Kethy
How do I get my old database info after 2.2 install?
  • 2005/8/3 4:09

• Kethy

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/1/26

I upgraded my site to 2.2. Now all my old database info is gone since I needed to use the prefix "xoops_22" rather than the old "xoops" prefix to successfully install.

How do I get 2.2 to read my old database info? I can't ask all my members to reregister and all that data is lost out there somewhere!!

Be gentle, I'm a beginner.

Kethy
Re: How do I get my old database info after 2.2 install?
  • 2005/8/3 10:56

• Kethy

• Just popping in

*bump* for help!!!

jdseymour

Are you saying XOOPS 2.2 created a new empty database? If so I assume that you used the install script instead of the update script. Is this correct?

Kethy
  • 2005/8/3 22:28

• Kethy

• Just popping in

There was an update script?

Yes I did an install. Is there a way to get access to my old database?

jdseymour

If the new tables are default with no extra information, I would drop all tables with the new prefix, then run the upgrade script the proper way to migrate your production database to XOOPS 2.2.

The name of the script is "xoopsupdate.php"

HTH.

Kethy
  • 2005/8/5 15:19

• Kethy

• Just popping in

Quote:

jdseymour wrote:
If the new tables are default with no extra information, I would drop all tables with the new prefix, then run the upgrade script the proper way to migrate your production database to XOOPS 2.2.

But how do I drop the tables?

jdseymour

Quote:

Kethy wrote:
Quote:

jdseymour wrote:

But how do I drop the tables?

Usually with a tool supplied by your hosting provider - phpmyadmin.

When you browse the database in phpmyadmin you should see two sets of tables.

One set with a XOOPS_ prefix and another with a xoops22_ prefix

The XOOPS_ tables are your original database and the xoops22_ was created on your latest install.

What you would want to do may seem tricky, but it is really pretty easy.