1
Fastian
Different URL in Addess Bar
  • 2005/7/2 16:29

  • Fastian

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 156

  • Since: 2005/6/6 0


Up til Now I was busy with my test installation and I just became addicted to XOOPS ;)

What I m trying to do is .... I m going to install XOOPS to my main site at "mydomain.com/xoops" But I want that if user type "mydomain.com" in address bar thy get the main XOOPS page. But the address bar should display "mydomain.com" instead of "mydomain.com/xoops"

In short I just want to hide the actual location of the XOOPS install. And I guess its possible coz I saw this on a site
Power Dreams

Interestingly ... As long as u don’t use the right click and surf any page in the same window the Address bar always display "http://www.power-dreams.com"

I also want the same thing. Hopefully someone will help me here. I did try to search but was unable to get anything like this.
I m not a Programmer
BUT
I m a Good Learner

2
Fastian
Re: Different URL in Addess Bar
  • 2005/7/3 3:24

  • Fastian

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 156

  • Since: 2005/6/6 0


BUMP ..

Please .. If somone could reply me. I have done enough with test installation and i m ready to go to use it on my actual web page. I m just waiting for the reply of this question so that i can "actually" start work on my site. :)

Thankx in advance
I m not a Programmer
BUT
I m a Good Learner

3
iHackCode
Re: Different URL in Addess Bar

here is The source From That Site

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<
html>
<
head>
<
META NAME="Title" CONTENT="Power-Dreams - We do it for our Dreams">
<
META NAME="Author" CONTENT="Johannes & Martin Krobath">
<
META NAME="Publisher" CONTENT="Rene Hermann">
<
META NAME="Copyright" CONTENT="2003-2004 @ www.Power-Dreams.com">
<
META NAME="Revisit" CONTENT="After 10 days">
<
META NAME="Keywords" CONTENT="Power, Dreams, Power-Dreams, BeOS, Zeta, Usergroup, BeOS Usergroup, Zeta Usergroup, Modding, Casemodding, News, Community">
<
META NAME="Description" CONTENT="Unsere Internetseite beschäftigt sich mit den folgenden Hauptthemen:
PC, Hardware, Software, Modding und dem Bereich BeOS/Zeta."
>
<
META NAME="Abstract" CONTENT="Unsere Internetseite beschäftigt sich mit den folgenden Hauptthemen:
PC, Hardware, Software, Modding und dem Bereich BeOS/Zeta."
>
<
META NAME="audience" CONTENT="Alle">
<
META NAME="Robots" CONTENT="INDEX,FOLLOW">
<
META NAME="Language" CONTENT="Deutsch">
<
title>www.Power-Dreams.com We do it 4 our Dreams</title>
</
head>

<
frameset rows="*,0" 
<
frame src="/xoops/index.php" frameborder="0" scrolling="yes"
</
frameset>
</
html>




So Basically They Are Using Frames

<frameset rows="*,0" 
<
frame src="/xoops/index.php" frameborder="0" scrolling="yes"
</
frameset>


CBB / LatestNews / Publisher / XM-Spotlight

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

4
krobi
Re: Different URL in Addess Bar
  • 2005/7/3 15:42

  • krobi

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 290

  • Since: 2003/12/21


yeah our solution is quite simple

its a frame that calles the index.php from xoops

so our xoops-installation is in a subfolder and would not be nice to see that is it in a subfolder.

so we but a simple frame html file in the root folder that opens the index.php from XOOPS in a frame that is 100% big - so nobody will see that is it a frame.
Developer of PD-Modules like PD-Downloads and PD-Links.
Webmaster of Power-Dreams.com

5
smdcom
Re: Different URL in Addess Bar

Quote:

krobi wrote:
yeah our solution is quite simple

its a frame that calles the index.php from xoops

so our xoops-installation is in a subfolder and would not be nice to see that is it in a subfolder.

so we but a simple frame html file in the root folder that opens the index.php from XOOPS in a frame that is 100% big - so nobody will see that is it a frame.


its very tricky.. nice.. keke

6
Fastian
Re: Different URL in Addess Bar
  • 2005/7/5 4:15

  • Fastian

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 156

  • Since: 2005/6/6 0


Hi Everyone.

I was not around 4 sometime. That’s why I wasn't able to reply here.

First of all,
While doing a new installation of XOOPS with my new Host I encounter "Blank Page error" I spend almost a day to work it out but nothing happen. Then when I was about to lose all of my hopes, I found an amazing amazing article by "Max-Realms" HERE
and it really saved my life
Thanks Max Thanks a lot.

Now coming back to the thread, soon after the installation I applied this small Frame Trick. Suggested by Bandit and guess what? It works absolutely with no error.

Thanks Bandit, before your post, I absolutely have no idea what Frames can do (apart from this i think i still dont )

And at the end thanks to Krobi for looking into the thread here.
Karobi, although it’s working great. But do I need to modify anything else?? I mean just 3 lines of code is everything that I need??
I m not a Programmer
BUT
I m a Good Learner

7
Watdehek
Re: Different URL in Addess Bar
  • 2005/7/5 7:23

  • Watdehek

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 130

  • Since: 2005/2/21


Fastian,

see also this thread.

8
otr222
Re: Different URL in Addess Bar
  • 2005/7/5 20:54

  • otr222

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 124

  • Since: 2005/5/13


Does this have any kind of a negative effect with google and such? (probalbly a stupid question)

Login

Who's Online

253 user(s) are online (59 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 253


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Feb 29
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits