brigarkee
Login Block has disappeared & other login question
  • 2005/4/21 21:15

• brigarkee

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/4/10

I had edited the login block and all of a sudden it was gone. I apologize if this has already been answered, I searched for almost an hour before I posted this.

Another thing I am trying to figure out, hopefully I ask this clearly enough, I am trying to make the main page of my site accessible to anyone without the login being the first thing people come to. I am not sure how to do this.
I would like for everyone to be able to view certain pages, I just want for people to log in if they are going to try and post to the forum, or download or something I specifically want for there to be a login for.

I would appreciate any help you can give me- I'm really new to all this stuff :-/

Thanks!

tripmon
Re: Login Block has disappeared & other login question
  • 2005/4/21 21:20

• tripmon

• Module Developer

• Since: 2004/2/28

1. go to yoursite.com/user.php

it should force a login box.

2. SystemAdmin>Groups>Anonymous

set the group permissions as you desire (modules and blocks).
THEN
SystemAdmin>Blocks to enable disable blocks.

Make sure you are editing the correct GROUP in the block admin (up top select GROUP anon.)

GL and you may want to read through some of the FAQ articles, carnuke has done a great job explaining most of this.

brigarkee
  • 2005/4/21 22:53

• brigarkee

• Just popping in

Thanks tripmom for the quick response, but now I am encountering another problem. I had to run some errands, came home and went to login to my site and it is giving me a "This page cannot be found".

When I try to log in, another thing I am noticing is this is what the link looks like. I don't think it should be like this should it?

http://www.iknowtoys.com/xps/<?php%20echo%20$this->_tpl_vars['xoops_url'];%20?>/user.php.