chnwalkman
Re: News RC2 & spotlight problem
  • 2005/3/16 2:35

• chnwalkman

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/8/25

I'm a real newbie for php and my english is poor.

I have 3 systems for the test, One of them has the php 4.3.7, and other all have the php 4.3.9.
I have met this problem on the system with php 4.3.7 (I'd tried to upgrade 1.2-1.3, and uninstall the 1.2 version, then enter a fresh install), and other all OK.
Quote:
When entering the website the spotlighted newsitem is viewable within the spotlight block. But, and this is where the problem lays,.... as soon you've clicked one of the other news topic-items tabs olf the enabled spotlight block, you cannot get to see the spotlighted news item back again. Although you see the tab 'spotlight', and click on it nothing will happen. Somehow the spotlighted news item block view gets blocked. Switching back doesn't work.
p.s. "other news topic-items tabs" click on it nothing will happen too.

So I put forward such suggestion to Shine.

Regards,

skenow
  • 2005/3/17 2:27

• skenow

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/11/17

I have the same navigation problem in one of my production sites - it's a hosted environment, so I don't have much control over it. Redhat Linux, Apache 1.3.27, PHP 4.3.0.

I've done file/folder comparisons using WinMerge on the hosted site and another of my sites, and I find no differences (other than host specific). No amount of updating, upgrading the module and regenerating templates has changed anything - the spotlight shows when you first load the page, but selecting another tab breaks the spotlight and any further tab navigation.

A search of news_top.php for PHP functions and comparing those to the changelog for PHP results in the following functions that had fixes in 4.3.9: array_slice, array_merge, isset, and sprintf.

Love the module, and for now, I'll use the classic view until I can get the host to upgrade PHP.

Steve

[edit]