1
pavant
Headlines - can't add new feeds
  • 2005/1/13 19:26

  • pavant

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 20

  • Since: 2004/10/20


Hi,
When I try to adjust the settings of the Headlines module, or add new feeds, I always get the "failed to save database" error. Does anybody know how to fix this? Is there an update available?
Thanks.

2
toosxzi
Re: Headlines - can't add new feeds
  • 2005/1/22 19:04

  • toosxzi

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 3

  • Since: 2005/1/7 1


i think this may have somthing to do with php5 but i don't know. i am having the exact problem so if someone more knowledgeable can look into a fix - please help us.

thank you

3
zisaint
Re: Headlines - can't add new feeds
  • 2005/1/26 11:53

  • zisaint

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 1

  • Since: 2005/1/26


I am having the same problem. I use LAMPP on my server so i switch from php5 to 4 and it worked fine. So i confirm that the problem is because of php5 i got the same problem with xoopsheadlines and xhld..

4
toosxzi
Re: Headlines - can't add new feeds
  • 2005/2/5 19:54

  • toosxzi

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 3

  • Since: 2005/1/7 1


This problem is still not fixed - It is hard for me to imagine that anyone using php5 with zoops2 can not use the headlines features and nobody considers this enough of a problem to address other than 3 people.

This is a big deal and needs to be handled.

5
sillviu
Re: PHP5 vs xhld, xmline, headlines
  • 2005/2/5 21:47

  • sillviu

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 1

  • Since: 2005/1/22


I have the same problem with php5 and xhld , xmline or headlines mudules. Seems that nobody found a solution :(. We need help.

thanks

6
wanikoo
Re: PHP5 vs xhld, xmline, headlines
  • 2005/3/11 18:10

  • wanikoo

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 129

  • Since: 2003/12/27


How about this change^^;;

I've never installed PHP5...but..I think this change is necessary!!

(target file: /xoopsheadline/class/headline.php)
From:
get_class($headline) != 'xoopsheadlineheadline'
To:
strtolower(get_class($headline)) != 'xoopsheadlineheadline'

because In PHP5, get_class($headline) returns XoopsheadlineHeadline !

Read this page!
http://kr2.php.net/manual/en/migration5.incompatible.php

7
wanikoo
Re: PHP5 vs xhld, xmline, headlines
  • 2005/3/16 14:27

  • wanikoo

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 129

  • Since: 2003/12/27


Umm...
I succeed^^;;
If you want to use xoopsheadline on PHP5,
you have to fix some bug and change some code^^;;

(1)First, this change is necessary!!
---target file: /xoopsheadline/class/headline.php---
From:
get_class($headline) != 'xoopsheadlineheadline'
To:
strtolower(get_class($headline)) != 'xoopsheadlineheadline'

because In PHP5, get_class($headline) returns XoopsheadlineHeadline !

And
---target files: /xoopsheadline/admin/index.php , /xoopsheadline/index.php---
Change like this^^;;

$HTTP_GET_VARS to $_GET
$HTTP_POST_VARS to $_POST

(2)Some bug fixes needed^^;;
---------------------
/xoopsheadline/admin/index.php
From:
$hlman =& xoops_getmodulehandler('headline');;
To: ( I mean not ;; just ; )
$hlman =& xoops_getmodulehandler('headline');
--------------------
And
/xoopsheadline/class/headlinerenderer.php

From:(Yeah^^This bug is one of real culprits !!!!!!!)
class XoopsHeadlineRenderer
{
// holds reference to xoopsheadline class object
var $_hl;

var $_tpl;

// XoopTemplate object
var $_tpl;

To:
class XoopsHeadlineRenderer
{
// holds reference to xoopsheadline class object
var $_hl;

var $_tpl;

// XoopTemplate object
//var $_tpl;
I mean not two $_tpl just one $_tpl !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Umm...
I confirmed it works well on PHP5 after this change.
(3) this change is also necessary!!
/html/class/xml/saxparser.php
From:
function free()
{
xml_parser_free($this->parser);

unset($this);
$this = null;
}
To:
function free()
{
xml_parser_free($this->parser);

unset($this);
//$this = null;
}
I mean //$this = null;

And
this is optional....
but...I recommend that you use snoopy instead of fopen^^;;

8
diyerk
Re: PHP5 vs xhld, xmline, headlines
  • 2005/3/16 16:00

  • diyerk

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2005/3/16


Mine is PHP Version 4.3.4. When I activate xhld or xoopsheadlines, I just get blank page.

I'm using Mandrake 10.0. The php.ini entry mentioned above or in other threads are up (=on).

9
Herko
Re: PHP5 vs xhld, xmline, headlines
  • 2005/3/16 16:09

  • Herko

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 4238

  • Since: 2002/2/4 1


diyerk: when you get a blank page, turn on PHP debug in the system admin. preferences, general settings page. Then load the white page again and see what is causing them. As you're not using PHP5, that is not the cause here.

Herko

10
diyerk
Re: PHP5 vs xhld, xmline, headlines
  • 2005/3/16 16:55

  • diyerk

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 8

  • Since: 2005/3/16


Thanks Herko.

I got this:
"
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: xml_parser_create() in /var/www/html/tmc/modules/xhld0/class/saxparser.php on line 44
Notice [PHP]: Undefined index: host in file modules/statistics/include/hitcounter.php line 49
Notice [PHP]: Constant _MI_HEADLINES_SHORTDTFMTD already defined in file modules/xhld0/language/english/modinfo.php line 43
"

This is line 44:

$this->parser = xml_parser_create('UTF-8');

Let's ignore the other (error) lines for now which are not related(?) to xhld.

I appreciate your help.

Login

Who's Online

227 user(s) are online (148 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 227


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits