wjaggs
Political Party Website - Help needed to theme better
  • 2004/3/3 23:23

• wjaggs

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/8/18

United National Congress - Trinidad & Tobago

I'm an amateur at this, but our party is one of the 2 main political parties in Trinidad & Tobago. This is the first real attempt to have a meaningful website for the party to highlight news, political events, speeches in parliament and to get feedback from supporters.

There are many features I would have liked to implement, such as a donation box so that supporters could donate to the party. Basically, what I was hoping for was a little help in coming up with a good theme/templates for the site.

I've experimented with the CSS and the Theme.html but am not too happy with the overall site. All comments, assistance would be greatly appreciated. Don't let the "political" stop you.

sunsnapper
Re: Political Party Website - Help needed to theme better

One thing that jumped out at me was that the logo in the upper-left corner is a different width then the left column. Then, I noted that your left (and right) column is not a fixed width, which is also fine.

But, if you wanted to, you could match the width of the logo in the upper-left corner match the width of the left column. In the process, you might consider putting the logo on a wider and taller white square... it might make the header look less cramped.

Not a big deal.

Mithrandir

Only thing lacking IMO is the table layout (which an amazing number of people forget to consider, when describing wants for a theme)

With the yellow and red'ish colours, you should be able to do something about the tables, so they don't stand out so much.

The logo is fine - perhaps the horisontal grey bar should be changed with a red'ish one, but that's all, I'd say (or get a wider logo, which would fill the entire left block width without making the left block items too crowded together.

wjaggs
  • 2004/3/11 23:39

• wjaggs

• Just popping in