Coplan
Xoops Table prefix
  • 2005/2/16 16:53

• Coplan

• Just popping in

• Since: 2002/10/2

I've been using XOOPS for a few years now, and I never really thought about this before:

Why would you need to specify a table prefix for your XOOPS tables at install time? Is there ever a reason why you would change this? For that matter...what is the purpose of having a prefix at all?

The only reason I can think of is to have two or more sites running from the same database. But I would imagine that would be very bad practice.

Mithrandir
Re: Xoops Table prefix

why is that bad practice?
Sometimes, you only have one database available.

Also, if a malicious hacker (are there un-malicious hackers? well, nevermind) knows your database prefix, it is much easier for him/her to exploit SQL injection vulnerabilities. If he/she does not know it, he/she has to guess it in order to e.g. use the SQL injection vulnerability to add him/her-self to the webmasters group

Coplan
  • 2005/2/17 19:11

• Coplan

• Just popping in

• Since: 2002/10/2

Ahh...that makes sense.

Thank you for your complete answer. ;)

RachelVirago

Is there any foolproof way to change this on a live site, anything in the way of tools, or do you just need the sql command line, and a very clear head?

Having finally managing to restore my database, after doing something silly I wanted to change my prefixes as a few copies were mailed out during the crises and I now consider it a problem.

RachelVirago

Hmm, No answer came the stern reply.

Well we will definitely be implimenting further security, so as a novice I guess I have a lot of reading to do.

This may be a coincidence but the account holder under suspicion (who does know our Db prefix) posts jumped from a genuine 10 to a spurious 56 today. This only showed in the top posters block, not against their profile.

This has not happened with any other of the 100+ members.

The problem was fixed by edit user synchronise.