Antoine
Re: Making Module
  • 2005/1/19 18:32

• Antoine

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/11/14

Quote:

Dave_L wrote:
That's not necessarily good if you're using caching. It could cause unnecessary database queries or other processing.

Hmmm, really? Never realised that and am pretty interested in knowing why that is. This far I've been going out of my way to postpone sending a header as long as possible in my code.
I am pretty new to XOOPS 2.0 (even went so far as to mod PHPNuke to use Smarty, hehe) but pretty impressed as to it's workings. (Minus a few annoyances.)

As far as I understand it; postponing the invocation of the header file would only cause the page rendering commands to be grouped closer together in the code.

But since it is beyond the scope of this thread to discuss it: maybe you'd be willing to PM me the explanation or direct me to another thread or documentation where this has been done before?

(Speaking of documentation, wouldn't it be nice if phpDocumentor would also support documentation of $_GET and $_POST variables. Sometimes you have to plough through over 4 files of code to find the exact usage of such a parameter)

Dave_L
  • 2005/1/19 19:48

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/11/7

Antoine, here's the topic that explains that: Module-wide caching - Important development

erzon
  • 2005/1/20 1:58

• erzon

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2005/1/1 3

i use one of the montisart theme...but no is working i dont know why. and i dont use cache..

Dave_L
  • 2005/1/20 2:08

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

Does the problem occur with the XOOPS default theme?

erzon
  • 2005/1/20 9:15

• erzon

• Quite a regular

yah even in default theme there is no effect i dont know why..

erzon
  • 2005/1/21 16:01

• erzon

• Quite a regular

any help on this??? i need this really bad

Mithrandir

Quote:

Antoine wrote: