malexandria
Please Help with Serious Template Problem

I'm so frustrated with XOOPS these days, that I'm seriously thinking about switching to something else. This smarty theme/template system is terrible.

I found a clean template/theme set, installed them, and I get the blank screen of death. When I turn on PHP De-Bug, I get the error message below. It's still seeking out the hacks that I made in my original theme, so it's absolutely refusing to let me change themes. The system is obviously pulling information from a cache file (NOT THE CACHE FOLDER, because I deleted all the files in there) or a database. I've been asking for three months now, where the heck is it seeking this information.

This error message comes up regardless of what NEW Theme and Template Combination that I use. I've tried using the default set, reuploading the a clean default set, using a different clean template file etc. It will allow me to change templates, but REFUSES to recognize a new theme. What's worse, I can't delete the other 3 themes in my theme folder either, because I'll get blank pages as well. It seems to be LOCKED INTO THE THEME DIRECTORY STRUCTURE and the THEME that's in place. I need to be able to change to a current theme in order to upgrade my news and newbb modules.

----------------------------------------------------------

Warning [Xoops]: Smarty error: problem writing '/usr/home/eclipse/public_html/templates_c/db%3Asystem_dummy.html.' in file class/smarty/Smarty.class.php line 589
Warning [Xoops]: Smarty error: problem writing '/usr/home/eclipse/public_html/templates_c/db%3Asystem_dummy.html.' in file class/smarty/Smarty.class.php line 589
Warning [Xoops]: Smarty error: problem writing '/usr/home/eclipse/public_html/templates_c/db%3Asystem_block_comments.html.' in file class/smarty/Smarty.class.php line 589
Warning [Xoops]: Smarty error: problem writing '/usr/home/eclipse/public_html/templates_c/db%3Aimenu_block.html.' in file class/smarty/Smarty.class.php line 589