astonstreet
Mail Problems

I have searched the forums and been unable to find an answer for my problems, forgive me if this has already been covered before.
My XOOPS site will not send email (activation, password request, mail users) to any email on a domain other then my own domain. ie: it will only send emails to email accounts on the same domain as the site.

Is this some security measure my host has employed? I am not technicaly minded so Im not able to work this out myself.

I have also lodged a help ticket with my host and am waiting a response.

any help/advice would be appreciatted

* edited - I have tried mail settings with PHP, Sendmail and results are the same... I have also tried SMTP but cant seem to get it to work I get a cant connect to smtp server error.... the server does support smtp though *

brash
Re:Mail Problems
  • 2004/11/3 4:57

• brash

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/4/10

Sounds like a host issue to me rather than Xoops, and as such I doubt there will be much we can do except wait for your hosts response.

pdajunkee
Re: Mail Problems
  • 2004/12/12 7:35

• pdajunkee

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/9/3 2

I am having the exact same problem, I can receive e-mails with the same domain name but it will not send anything out to other domains. I've used php, sendmail, smtp and smtpauth. All with no luck. If I setup the account with outlook I'm able to send to any domain.

I'm guessing it is some sort of anti-spam sending filter put in place by the web host. But it's a wild guess.

Let me know how it's worked out for you!

btw - I am using mysitespace as my host.

sgshell
  • 2004/12/14 14:50

• sgshell

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/10/4

this confirm a hosting problem.... due to sendmail that sending out a nobody sender mail....

I have this problem many time...