Oneprince
Newbb 2.0 - Changes and streamlining
  • 2004/11/18 20:00

• Oneprince

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/10/11

First time poster here, so bear with me if I ramble some.

I'm creating a commercial gaming site with Xoops. I've installed the Newbb 2.0 RC2 module and am seeing some delay while the page is processed on the server side. The page takes no time at all to display once it is sent from the server to the client. I'm pretty new to php as well, but I'm a proficient coder, so I've browsed through most of the code and made several changes already.

(For example, I've made it so threads can be marked as private. In a bidding type environment users can hide their bid posts from everyone but moderators. I did this by meddling with the karma system.)

I'm not really using much of the extra functionality of the forum so I was wondering if removing the php code that I don't use would streamline and speed up the forums to any significant degree?

Also, would changing the pngs to gifs or text links make a difference as well? I read somewhere that it takes IE longer to render pngs. I'm tempted to rip out all the image code and just place the images directly into the templates. Other than fixing the png transparency issue in IE, what advantage does having all the image processing handled outside of the template?

Is php a pure interpreted language or does it compile anywhere into bytecode or lower? If php is an interpreted language, it would seem if I can remove as much unneeded code as possible, the forum would work faster.

I'm waiting until Newbb 2.0 Final to start really ripping everything up bigtime.

Is there any type of caching that can be done in the forums? I don't see how there could be, but just asking.