lesm123
database error on WindowsME
  • 2004/8/20 21:39

• lesm123

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/8/19

This is my first time creating a MySQL database on a windowsME computer. Apache an PHP are okay for years.

Have installed MySql 3.23.51 and according to WinMySQLadmin it's okay. However, after creating the database, I run install.php and the proccess ends with this error:

Could not connect to the database server.

My phpInfo is:

MySQL Support enabled
Active Persistent Links 0
Active Links 0
Client API version 3.23.49

Directive Local Value Master Value
mysql.allow_persistent On On
mysql.connect_timeout 60 60
mysql.default_host no value no value
mysql.default_password no value no value
mysql.default_port no value no value
mysql.default_socket no value no value
mysql.default_user no value no value
mysql.max_links Unlimited Unlimited
mysql.max_persistent Unlimited Unlimited
mysql.trace_mode Off Off

It seems that PHP doesn't know where the database is. Any help?

tedsmith
Re: database error on WindowsME
  • 2004/8/20 22:54

• tedsmith

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/6/2 1

Before we go on, have you actually created a database? If not, close mysqladmin and ensure mysql.exe is not running either (close it using Task Manager). Then open a DOS shell, go to c:\mysql\bin, type mysql. Then, at the >mysql prompt type 'create database databasename' (without quotes). If it lets you do that, great. Restart mysqladmin and see if your database is listed in the databases tab. If it is, try installing XOOPS again. If it isn't, then it's likely that you have somehow locked yourself out of the MySQL system and you'll need to flush the privilages.

I highly recommend you visit the MySQL website, and look up resetting root user passwords and flushing privilages (I had to do it once but have forgotton the syntax now).

Also, read this thread :

https://xoops.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=21413&forum=1#forumpost93117