twitaman
I'll be damned
  • 2004/8/3 20:06

• twitaman

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/7/28

Ok, so I have a shared hosting account with Interland. I have MySQL 4.0.18 and PHP 4.3.2 and XOOPS 2.0.7. I also have a MySQL database that was created by Interland when I got my account. I have the SQL Server name, user name, database name, and password. I also assigned the correct CHMODs for the directories as per the install instructions. But here's the catch since I want to install XOOPS as a test site and not interrupt the website that I already have I placed the contents of the XOOPS HTML folder in a folder I called 'OBS3'inside my server account's HTML folder. But I couldn't connect the database. I did something obviously wrong, but what?

I have found a few other threads on this topic but I wasn't clear on the details as I am new to this.

Stewdio
Re: I'll be damned
  • 2004/8/3 20:09

• Stewdio

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2003/5/7 1

Make sure the path in your mainfile.php relects the subfolder you have chosen to install XOOPS into.

twitaman
  • 2004/8/3 20:30

• twitaman

• Friend of XOOPS

So, if I placed XOOPS into a folder called 'obs2' in my HTML folder on my website (let's call it, 'mywebsite') then the line to change in the mainfile.php file is in the 'location' part. Like this?:

('Location:http://www.mywebsite.com/obs2');

twitaman
  • 2004/8/3 20:43

• twitaman

• Friend of XOOPS

I almost hate to asks this next question (please excuse my ignorance, I swear to jeebus I have 'normal' intelligence in most other endeavors) but is 'Database Hostname' in the XOOPS installation (where they have 'localhost') the same thing as the 'SQL Server name: ipsqlgXXXXXX.registeredsite.com' that Interland sent me? I place the 'ipsqlgXXX...' in there?

ajaxbr
  • 2004/8/3 20:50

• ajaxbr

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2003/10/25