1
bengt
Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2004/8/18 6:51

  • bengt

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2004/8/18


When a user clicks on news(in the menu), there is a submenu called "Submit news". Is it possible to remove this?

2
m0nty
Re: Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2004/8/18 7:13

  • m0nty

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 3337

  • Since: 2003/10/24


open and edit modules/news/xoops_version.php

find the section for menuitems

and look for submit news..

simply comment it out with a // at the beginning of the line..

3
dplittle
Re: Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2004/10/24 21:51

  • dplittle

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 49

  • Since: 2004/9/15


I came up with a slightly different solution...

I still wanted to have the menu items for me as Admin so I used the following code ...

global $xoopsUser;
if ( 
$xoopsUser )
{
  if ( 
$xoopsUser->isAdmin() )
  {
    
$modversion['sub'][1]['name'] = _MI_NEWS_SMNAME1;
    
$modversion['sub'][1]['url'] = "submit.php";
  }
}

4
purchapl
Re: Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2005/3/1 1:41

  • purchapl

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 3

  • Since: 2005/2/23


hey dplittle,

Thanks for that bit of code...I'm new to php and it provided exactly what I was looking to do in the News section of my site...Thanks again!

5
purchapl
Re: Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2005/3/1 1:43

  • purchapl

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 3

  • Since: 2005/2/23


hey dplittle,

Thanks for that bit of code...I'm new to php and it provided exactly what I was looking to do in the News section of my site...Thanks again!

6
Downside83
Re: Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2008/3/6 1:28

  • Downside83

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2008/2/25


That was so helpful...thank you so much...read other posts...that by far was the easiest fix..just copy and past under //menu works like a charm!

7
avtx30
Re: Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2008/3/6 2:03

  • avtx30

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 181

  • Since: 2006/10/12


Why don't you use multimenu?

I'm always trying to not touch php codes, to keep things simple (when upgrade etc.)

multimenu's usage

- To show menu as normal (with "Submit news" when News module is selected), link is @[news]
- To show menu without sub-menus (without "Submit news"), link is [news]
- To show menu with sub-menus (regardless of module selecting), link is +[news]

8
Anonymous
Re: Remove "submit news" from menu
  • 2008/3/6 8:22

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Quote:
bengt wrote:

When a user clicks on news(in the menu), there is a submenu called "Submit news". Is it possible to remove this?


IIRC, the latest v1.56 has fixed this in that only logged in users with submit permission get the link.

Get the module from http://xoops.instant-zero.com/

Login

Who's Online

432 user(s) are online (61 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 432


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits