slowlove
View topics in left menu
  • 2004/1/20 7:41

• slowlove

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/1/20

Hi, I'm just new to Xoops, and this has probably been asked before, but I couldn't find any info on it in the FAQ.

When you publish news in a topic, the topic is linked at the top of the lead-in box, which is great - you can click on it, and see the other articles in the topic.

But -- this of course only applies to news items that are currently visible on the page. For example, I could have a "movies" topic that isn't immediately visible on my front page - how will people know that the topic exists?

Is there any way (either within the core or as a module maybe) that we can have a list of the topics that exist, down the left side of the page? It seems to me that it would be an obvious requirement for many users. Is there a way that this can be done?

Thanks in advance for any help...

MadFish
Re: View topics in left menu
  • 2004/1/20 9:24

• MadFish

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/9/27

Hi

Yep, no problem. Just make a custom menu block with your topics listed in it. You can make new blocks through the form at the bottom of the admin/block page.

carnuke
  • 2004/1/20 9:37

• carnuke

• Home away from home

• Since: 2003/11/5

Helo Slowloven and welcome to the XOOPS forums

I don't use the news module much so, Im not completely familiar. I guess you really want an automatic clickable list of say the last X-posts displayed in a side column. I am not sure how you go about this, although in principle it should be possible. Try using search in this forum, there's probably lots on the news module

Richard

kahumbu
  • 2004/1/20 11:00

• kahumbu

• Documentation Writer

• Since: 2003/8/23

You have to make a custom block. You can use bbcode or HTML, although I find it easier to work with HTML.