chenliyong
Duplicating current XOOPS website to different language
  • 2012/9/3 1:45

• chenliyong

• Just popping in

• Since: 2012/9/3 1

Hello all,

I'm an entirely brand newbie to content management system world, especially XOOPS, even though I've heard about it. I have a problem in the job and I think it's not too hard, but I just don't know where to start.

I was given task to replicate my company's website, which mainly using XOOPS. I don't know which XOOPS version they use, as I also just worked here 6 months ago, and there are nobody who can brief me about how the website works.

What I need to replicate, is the whole website, with different language. Their current website is in Chinese, and they want a link in the header of the Chinese website to link into the English version.

So, basically, if the main Chinese website is www.example.com, then I need to setup the English website in www.example.com/en. I was just downloaded the entire website contents to my hard drive just to find out how it's work. But after I open the php files, I just realized that I can't change the file manually as it's encoded within php scripting something, and I can't see any "real website words" at all. So I'm guessing there must be any language selection within the control panel somewhere in the XOOPS to change at least the user interface or control panel. But, as the website is in Chinese, I'm having a hard time to find where is the page to change the language option. Right now, I'm going to re upload all the website that I've downloaded to the /en/ sub folder, and hoping that it's at least the right thing to do.

That's my first problem. And now there's my second problem. As I'm trying to duplicate it, I certainly has to duplicate the SQL database too before I can translate them. I'm still confused about how to do that, as I'm guessing XOOPS must be use a fixed database name for the website, and I don't know how to point XOOPS to use another database name.