1
sostool
need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/6 22:59

  • sostool

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 6

  • Since: 2012/8/6 2


hi i am new to xoops

i just made simple module as start

it working fine but no template


can someone help me move it to template

my code is

include '../../mainfile.php';
$xoopsOption['template_main'] = 'yahoo_feeds.html';
include 
XOOPS_ROOT_PATH '/header.php';

require_once(
'class/simplepie/autoloader.php');


                    
// We'll process this feed with all of the default options.
                    
$feed = new SimplePie();
                    
                    
// Set which feed to process.
                    
$feed->set_feed_url('http://news.yahoo.com/rss');
                    
                    
// Set the maximum number of items
                    
$items_per_feed 15;
                    
                    
// Run SimplePie.
                    
$feed->init();
                     
                    
// This makes sure that the content is sent to the browser as text/html and the UTF-8 character set (since we didn't change it).
                    
$feed->handle_content_type();
                    
                    
                    
$c=0;
                    foreach (
$feed->get_items() as $item):
                    
$feed $item->get_feed();
                        if(
$c<$items_per_feed)
                        {
                            echo 
'<hr>';
                            echo 
'<a href="'.$item->get_permalink().'" target="_blank">'.$item->get_title().'</a><br>';
                            echo 
'<b>'.$item->get_date().'</b><br>';
                            echo 
'<p>'.$item->get_description().'</p>';
                            
                        }
                        
$c++;
                        
                    endforeach;

include_once 
XOOPS_ROOT_PATH '/footer.php';


I tried to move the my output the yahoo_feeds.html but nothing worked with me

can you help me pleas

Thanks in advance


2
zyspec
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/7 2:34

  • zyspec

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1095

  • Since: 2004/9/21


There's several steps you need to follow to begin using Smarty templates within XOOPS. A quick
word of warning. I did not install and/or try this code so there may be a bug, so use this at your
own risk - but the general idea is right...

First, change your code to something like this:

include '../../mainfile.php'
$xoopsOption['template_main'] = 'yahoo_feeds.html'
include 
XOOPS_ROOT_PATH '/header.php'

require_once(
'class/simplepie/autoloader.php'); 

// We'll process this feed with all of the default options. 
$feed = new SimplePie(); 

// Set which feed to process. 
$feed->set_feed_url('http://news.yahoo.com/rss'); 
 
// Set the maximum number of items 
$items_per_feed 15
 
// Run SimplePie. 
$feed->init(); 
  
// This makes sure that the content is sent to the browser as text/html and the UTF-8 character set (since we didn't change it).
 
$feed->handle_content_type(); 
 
 
$c=0
$feeditems = array();
foreach (
$feed->get_items() as $item) {
    
$feed $item->get_feed(); 
    if(
$c $items_per_feed
    { 
        
$feeditems[] = array('permalink' => $item->get_permalink(),
                                 
'title' => $item->get_title(),
                                 
'date'  => $item->get_date(),
                                 
'desc'  => $item->get_description()
                            );
    } else {
        
// break out of feed loop if reached maximum number of feeds
        
break;
    }
    
$c++;
}
    
$xoopsTpl->assign('feed'$feeditems);
include_once 
XOOPS_ROOT_PATH '/footer.php';


Then in /{modulename}/xoops_version.php you need to add:

// Templates
$modversion['templates'][] = array('file' => 'yahoo_feeds.html',
                                   
'description' => "Display Yahoo Feeds Template");


And finally you need to create the template file (./{modulename}/templates/yahoo_feeds.html)

<{foreach item=feed from=$feeds}>
    <
hr />
    <
a href="<{$feed.permalink}>" target="_blank"><{$feed.title}></a><br />
    <
b><{$feed.date}></b><br /> 
    <
p><{$feed.desc}></p>
<{/foreach}>


Then copy this to your module directory and make sure you update the module using the Admin control panel.

3
sostool
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/7 4:18

  • sostool

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 6

  • Since: 2012/8/6 2


Thanks for your help

I tried your code


no error and nothing to show!


you can try it very simply one file module and simplepie code i got it from here
http://simplepie.org/wiki/setup/sample_page

or i can send you the module please

4
zyspec
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/7 13:10

  • zyspec

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1095

  • Since: 2004/9/21


There's an error in the code I posted above....

You'll need to change the line near the bottom of the code from:

$xoopsTpl->assign('feed'$feeditems);


to
$xoopsTpl->assign('feeds'$feeditems);


Try to see if this works for you...

5
sostool
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/7 18:44

  • sostool

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 6

  • Since: 2012/8/6 2


That work just fine

Thank you very much appreciate


6
sostool
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/8 22:58

  • sostool

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 6

  • Since: 2012/8/6 2


I like to go more advanced to use multiple feeds
http://simplepie.org/wiki/tutorial/sort_multiple_feeds_by_time_and_date


change

$feed->set_feed_url('http://news.yahoo.com/rss');


to

$feed->set_feed_url(array(
                                                
'http://digg.com/rss/index.xml',
                                                
'http://feeds.tuaw.com/weblogsinc/tuaw',
                                                
'http://feeds.uneasysilence.com/uneasysilence/blog'
                                        
));


i tested it and worked fine

so I make table in database and insert some data

module sql file#
CREATE TABLE myfeeds_links (
  
lid int(11unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
  
title varchar(100NOT NULL default '',
  
url varchar(250NOT NULL default '',
  
logourl varchar(60NOT NULL default '',
  
status tinyint(2NOT NULL default '0',
  
PRIMARY KEY  (lid),
  
KEY status (status),
  
KEY title (title(40))
ENGINE=MyISAM;



in my module index.php after that you see before

after line
require_once('class/simplepie/autoloader.php');


I add
$query $xoopsDB->query(' SELECT url FROM ' $xoopsDB->prefix('myfeeds_links' ' where status="1" '));

    while(
$myrow $xoopsDB->fetchArray($query) )
    {
        
$url $myrow['url'];
        
        echo 
$url.'<br>';
    }


The output is same links I inserted:
Quote:
http://digg.com/rss/index.xml
http://feeds.tuaw.com/weblogsinc/tuaw
http://feeds.uneasysilence.com/uneasysilence/blog



I want to not to show the output but to move it to:
$feed->set_feed_url(array($url));

or
$feed->set_feed_url($url);


but not to work at all

thanks in advanced

7
sostool
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/9 1:18

  • sostool

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 6

  • Since: 2012/8/6 2


OK I learned this

$query $xoopsDB->query(' SELECT url FROM ' $xoopsDB->prefix('myfeeds_links' ' where status="1" '));
 
$urls = array();

 while(
$myrow $xoopsDB->fetchArray($query) )
 {
 
$url $myrow['url'];
$urls[] = $url;
 
 
//echo $url.'<br>';
 
}

 
print_r($urls);


output for $urls is:

Quote:


and I am stuck here!

help me please

8
zyspec
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/9 2:53

  • zyspec

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1095

  • Since: 2004/9/21


now, instead of
print_r($urls)

try
$feed->set_feed_url($urls);


9
sostool
Re: need help move my code to template
  • 2012/8/9 4:07

  • sostool

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 6

  • Since: 2012/8/6 2


WOW

That was so cool


Thanks a lot

Login

Who's Online

226 user(s) are online (125 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 226


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: May 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits