Lemernis
XOOPS suitable for a small community website? please advise
  • 2009/5/19 11:41

• Lemernis

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/2/16

Please advise if XOOPS would serve my purposes for the following:

I plan to create a website for a ten block district of a township that provides the following features

* links to the city's website
* page for annual schedule for trash and recycling pickup
* provides regular updates regarding Town Council meetings; any local news relevant to residents
* blog about issues affecting the city and district
* provides a forum for members to discuss issues; ideally I would like to have the capacity to create a number of subforums, if needed
* includes the personal messaging (PMs) feature (not absolutely essential though)

I've taken a look at Microsoft's Office Live Small Business, but unfortunately it appears Office Live does not include a forum feature. And the forum is essential to the concept of the site.

I have no experience with web design. I have a little experience with webmaster permissions at a hobby site with XOOPS, but that's it. If there isn't an easy auto-installation for XOOPS modules I would probably be too daunted to create a site with XOOPS since I don't know any coding languages.

I don't need or want a lot of bells and whistles. When it comes to building the site, the more user friendly and intuitive the better. Realistically, I don't expect to get more than a hundred or so registered members, at best.

If I use XOOPS to create the site, how would I host it? I have a spare PC I could use as a dedicated server. I guess I'd have to pay for a domain name, though, no?

I'm new to all of this, so please have patience with a newbie!

bjuti
Re: XOOPS suitable for a small community website? please advise
  • 2009/5/19 13:31

• bjuti

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2009/1/7 2

Yup, XOOPS is suitable for your needs.