englishdad
help with migrating a site
  • 2008/11/13 16:58

• englishdad

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/11/13

Hi All

Firstly please excuse my complete ignorance as I am a total newbie to XOOPS and have only just encountered it when looking to move our site from one server to another!

As I'm very unfamiliar with exactly what XOOPS does I'll explain my situation first. When I log in to our site (which appears to be written in PHP) I get a link to an administration menu which takes me to XOOPS control panel home (my first encounter of xoops!!).

From there I have a number of options (interactive boxes) down the left hand side where I can do various tasks. It appears to be powered by version 2.0.16.

I have been asked (as the most website/internet savvy person amongst us!!!) to find out how we can take our site and host it elsewhere since our current provider is constantly unavailable and useless so my question to you guys out there is, can anyone tell me what I need to do to get this going, eg

Do I need a copy of anything else other than the site itself (i.e. if I have a copy of the server directory the site resides in does that include xoops)

What type of server do I need to host the site on to take account of xoops

Does anyone know what ????? is as it was mentioned that it is used somewhere on the site (is this part of xoops)

Are there any databases involved that would need migrating as well

I apologise for my lack of knowledge and thank you in advance for absolutely ANY help you can give me

Cheers!!

sailjapan
Re: help with migrating a site

Do you have CPanel installed on your host's server?
If you do, you could choose a new host which has the same CPanel, and simply download a back up of the home directory and DB (yes, XOOPS uses a database. Usually MySQL) from your current server and upload them to your new server.
Don't forget to find and make a note of your db username and password.