LeenkzMike
Downloads Question
  • 2008/9/13 22:28

• LeenkzMike

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/9/1 1

Hello Everyone:

I am Mike, and I am pretty new to the XOOPS environment. I have read thru this forums a lot and have done all the preliminaries like installing protector, backup, and XOOPS info.

I am now moving into adding content to my site, a big part of what I want to do is offer downloads, so I have also installed one of the downloads modules, I think I have the same one used here.

I want only registered members to be able to download, and I have accomplished that, by setting permissions.

But what I want to know, and have not been able to find is:

Is there a way I can let anonymous users "see" the downloads, but not be able to download them? The way I have it now, anonymous users can't even see the downloads area on their menu, which is fine, but I would like them to be able to see the downloads area, but be asked to register before they can download.

Hope some one can help me!!

Mamba
Re: Downloads Question
  • 2008/9/15 2:14

• Mamba

• Since: 2004/4/23

Mike, welcome to XOOPS! I hope, you'll find our CMS as productive as we do!

Quote:
Is there a way I can let anonymous users "see" the downloads, but not be able to download them?

I don't think it's possible "out of box" - you have all or nothing.
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

LeenkzMike
  • 2008/9/15 4:12

• LeenkzMike

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/9/1 1

Thanks Mamba:

I was not for sure this could be done, and I am not able to hire someone to code it this way at the moment, so I am prepared to deal with the fact.

So far I am dealing with it this way: Anytime I add a download, I also write a "News", so peeps that can not see the downloads, can at least see a "News" article about the download.

It is working for the time being!

sailjapan