1
sameeee
New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/12 20:43

  • sameeee

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2008/8/12


Hi all, I am new to XOOPS and find I can do the things I have been wanting to do with my site idea, but there is one thing holding me back, I a Dummie!
I have read the Starting a new XOOPS site topic, the FAQ's and serched the site, but can't find answers to the basic questions I have,
I am not a coder, I know some HTML enough to edit when told what and where to edit, I installed XOOPS through my hosts Fantastico. so that made the install easy lol.

I downloaded


Protector
DB Backup and Restore
Frameworks and Xoopseditors v1.10

but could not find XoopsInfo v2.12

now some of these need other things done to make them work and it's the other things I don't understand how to do,

what I need is a XOOPS buddy that can answer questions and talk me through doing basic things.things everyone working with XOOPS have already done, or a XOOPS for Dummies guide, ( the link for XOOPS for Dummies
does not work and the link for XOOPS Operations Guide do not work )

will someone be willing to help me, I know I can make my site work.

Walk in Beauty
Sameeee^i^

2
solo71
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/12 21:24

  • solo71

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 941

  • Since: 2003/1/29


Hello and welcome.

Xoops buddies are all around. Just ask your questions.


3
stefan88
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/12 21:25

  • stefan88

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 1085

  • Since: 2004/9/20


Hi,

and welcome to xoops. Just ask your questions and someone will answer - depending on the question and timezone

To start with the xoopsinfo module go to autors site (v2.14):

http://www.dugris.info/modules/wfdown ... nglefile.php?cid=1&lid=31

..

4
Runeher
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/12 21:31

  • Runeher

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 825

  • Since: 2008/1/24


Also you could try your local support site if your native language is not english and the site exists...

btw. If it was my site, I would move it up to the top domain and drop the com/comm thing...

5
sameeee
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/12 22:31

  • sameeee

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2008/8/12


WOW! Thanks for the fast reply, my native language is english if I can talk and write in english is another thing lol,
so Please bear with me I might not explain my questions right, ya gota figure I'm a Old Lady and don't have the smarts you youngens have,
I have made other sites (one with WYSIWYG, a zen cart site, and am also working on a shopping mall site ) so I know how to work with file manager in cpanel, and ftp,
it's just when I run across something I have never done before I ask Questions, I don't want to do it wrong and flub it up.

I just started and even tho I installed with Fantastico I installed on a test site. then building my main site. I am trying to fallow the steps in
the Starting a new XOOPS site topic,
it's trying to figure out how to install
DB Backup and Restore
Frameworks and Xoopseditors v1.10
and all the things that needs to be done, I have read the readme files (and it's all to much for this wittle mind)
so after upzipping the modules what parts do I upload? and how do I configure them? Told ya I was a Dummie,
will someone talk me thro this?

the Starting a new XOOPS site topic says
1. The /Frameworks folder gets copied into the /htdocs folder of the XOOPS core (it becomes the 13th folder in /htdocs)
2. The /xoopseditor folder gets copied to the /htdocs/class folder (it becomes the 7th folder in /htdocs/class)
I know it's more than just doing that.
after I get this done I will tackel Protector


Thanks for your help
Walk in Beauty
Sameeee^i^

PS: the /comm is my test site

6
Runeher
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/12 22:49

  • Runeher

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 825

  • Since: 2008/1/24


Quote:
PS: the /comm is my test site


With XOOPS you don't need that as you can close the site while building it...

7
sameeee
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/12 22:54

  • sameeee

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2008/8/12


Yep I could but if I flub it up I don't lose the main site and all the work I have done on it, so learn first and then build as I go
Sameeee^i^

8
stefan88
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/13 15:06

  • stefan88

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 1085

  • Since: 2004/9/20


Hi,

Quote:
so learn first and then build as I go


Very good aproach. You can also do this on your own computer with XAMPP/WAMPP ar other package that will install and set up web server/database server/PHP for you.

Quote:
I installed XOOPS through my hosts Fantastico


That may be not so good idea. You may not get the right version. What version is in your Fantastico? You may check in the admin footer OR in xoopsinfo module OR check in include/version.php


Quote:
I know it's more than just doing that.


But that is what the readme say And that is all. Those are not modules. You can check if everything with editors is ok with xoopsinfo. But having installed them does not mean you will have them in all modules - only the modules that support them.

..

9
sameeee
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/13 20:36

  • sameeee

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2008/8/12


Hi
I will look into XAMPP/WAMPP have been wanting a localhost,
?? can you test more than one app with this?

the install thro Fantastico is XOOPS 2.0.18.1


xoopsinfo
backup
are modules I can do them
I tryed to download XoopsInfo v2.12
from the link that was given and it wouldn't let me a page came up saying something about
NOT TO LEECH OTHER SITES LINKS!!

Frameworks
xoopseditor
are extensions to the core

I am just confused as to what to upload

in xoops-class-xoopxeditor after upzip there is the file

xoops-class-xoopxeditor

when I click on it there is a file

class

when I click on that file there is a file

xoopeditor

now which file do I upload???

in the readme file it says after upload

configure preferences where applicable

and there is a list Do I have to do this??
if so thats where I gona need lots of help

Frameworks has the configure preferences where applicable too



I read on the forums or the site that Protector would be built into the newest Xoops. has this been done? or do I still have to install it??

Walk in Beauty
Sameeee^i^

10
ghia
Re: New to Xoops
  • 2008/8/13 23:11

  • ghia

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 4953

  • Since: 2008/7/3 1


Quote:
the install thro Fantastico is XOOPS 2.0.18.1

That's OK.Quote:
from the link that was given and it wouldn't let me a page came up saying something about NOT TO LEECH OTHER SITES LINKS!!
Hmm Sometimes Dugris' site likes only FireFox. You can try this
Download XoopsInfo.
If it won't work, you can try to right clicking on it and then copy it to the URL field of your browser and click go.
Quote:
xoopeditor now which file do I upload???

In the zipfile in the map (= directory) class is another map called xoopseditor. You have to upload this map and its contents to your site in the map class (where normally maps are present like mail and xoopsform). After the upload xoopseditor should be aside these.
Quote:
Frameworks has the configure preferences where applicable too
It should be usable without any configuration.
Quote:
I read on the forums or the site that Protector would be built into the newest Xoops. has this been done? or do I still have to install it??
That will be in a next version. Up to now, it requires some manual work.
Follow the readme.

Login

Username:
Password:

Lost Password? Register now!

Who's Online

48 user(s) are online (25 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 48


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: May 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits