jlm69
Xoops Modules (All Xoops Users Please Read)
  • 2008/1/9 1:24

• jlm69

• Module Developer

• Since: 2002/7/19

To all XOOPS Users

This is about Modules and the Module Repository.

For those that don't know me ,my name is John Mordo, XOOPS User jlm69, I am a third party developer of the Jobs Module, the Classifieds Module and the Alumni Module.
I want to ask the community to help me with something. If you have been around here for a while you know that XOOPS has had a tough year or so, and if you are like me, you have noticed that it is getting back on track. There are some good people trying to bring this back where it should be. I would like to ask for your help. I am not a XOOPS Core Developer, nor am I part of any team in Xoops. I am just a XOOPS User just like you, and I like XOOPS alot.

Over the years I have read some posts saying that this module or that module doesn't work anymore. I think we should get this sorted out.

BlueStocking has posted a zip file with all of the XOOPS Modules in it. I think We as Users of these modules should help these good people I mentioned earlier because they can't do what I am thinking by themselves, so here is my idea.

When you download a module to use on your site and it doesn't work, don't just be disappointed and walk away from it, you can notify me or we could have a special forum to report 'Dead Modules', some way of knowing they don't work. Then we can have them removed from the Module Repository and maybe have a special place for these 'Dead Modules', once they are listed maybe someone who wants to use one of them and has the ability can update it so it can be put in the Module Repository again. To make this work we would need people willing to do the testing of these modules, no one person or small group would be able to do this themselves, but as a community we could make this happen.

I'm not asking you to test all the modules on the list, but pick the one or more that you would want to use.