Antean
Absolute newbie questions
  • 2007/5/19 12:10

• Antean

• Just popping in

• Since: 2007/5/19

Hi, i just started XOOPS and its cool, thanks for this great tool mates

i've benn trying to create my own theme for a day, and everytime i come up with a screwed screen

i first design my page with photoshop, get a web page out of it(i guess it uses build-in imageready) then i copy the codes in default theme(left block,rigth block, center block to the corresponding table i left for them in design. and change the image sources,title head tags etc) then i limit the width of the tables to make it fit in my page

but everytime i come up with a page bigger than i planned. and i m kind a tired trying to figure out what to change everytime. i m not good with php. can use photoshop, some html and some other languages not related to this.

so here's mine question.
what are the initial steps to create my own theme while designing with photoshop. i just need to make the size and position as i need(seems i cannot do it within the html alone)
what codes to copy etc. any good step by step tutorials out there?

thanks in advance

sorry if these are asked before, been searching for a basic tutorial for a day, found some but they were not enough,and kind a bored to search for more

trspice
Re: Absolute newbie questions
  • 2007/5/19 19:04

• trspice

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2007/3/24

No doubt this has been asked many times and possibly the same response has been given. If you haven't yet, check the FAQ athttps://xoops.org/modules/smartfaq/faq.php?faqid=212

If you duplicated the default theme then the CSS file has tables set to width: 100% and is overriding the table width values you set in theme.html. Don't change the table value in style.css or it will affect other tables used in modules.

Wrap a DIV or a Table around the existing structure in theme.html and add a CLASS in it and create the values in the CSS so it will look like this;

<body>
<
div class="mainwrap">