lysakowski
skills and target audience for XOOPS and add-in modules?
  • 2006/12/3 20:12

• lysakowski

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/11/25

Hi,

I am new to XOOPS. I just installed it on a local test system and there are no modules pre-installed.

In "Where are the modules in XOOPS 2.0.14?" I read which modules are most important to download and install, but there is no link to the latest versions of these modules.

Another problem is that after hunting for the modules given in "Where are the modules in XOOPS 2.0.14?" it appears that many of them are still in development, or at a development stage before Production Quality, or they are for V2.2, not V2.0.1x.

This lack of a full trial installation is confusing. It makes it look like one needs to be a programmer and/or hacker to use most of the XOOPS modules, since most of them appear to be pretty buggy. Most module reviews are showing problems with installation and configuration.

I see a lot of PHP and MySQL code corrections, database table modifications (hacks), CSS V2.2 and XHTML noncompliance, and many "fixes" that are needed to get the basic modules like FAQs, Articles, DocumentManager, and others. What gives? (I don't see this with modules and components for CMSs like Mambo and Joomla.)

Is this just my perception from browsing through the modules and support forums, or is a fairly high level of skill beyond module installation and basic configuration need to setup and administer XOOPS sites?

Module versions are splattered all over, mixing V2.0.14 and V2.2 modules together within the same thread.

What are the fundamental skills that a site developer (not a XOOPS developer) need to download, configure, and manage XOOPS modules, users, security, and content?

wizanda
Re: skills and target audience for XOOPS and add-in modules?
  • 2006/12/3 21:01

• wizanda

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/3/21

At the mo, most modules I have been trying with 2.2.5 rc2 which have been working fine..