gordo
Syndication Module
  • 2006/8/22 23:11

• gordo

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/8/17

I have just installed the Lykos Syndication module for RSS feed.

Anyone got any ideas how to set up a simple feed fom site.. so when I go live I can syndicate my news etc..

zyspec
Re: Syndication Module
  • 2006/8/23 1:00

• zyspec

• Module Developer

• Since: 2004/9/21

There's a few ways to accomplish this - depending on what you want to feed from your site.

1) If all you want to feed is your news (and you have the news module installed) then just usehttp://yoursite.com/backend.php

2) If you'd like to feed a little more than just news then I'd recommend using RSSFit from BrandyCoke Productions. You can find it here.

3) Some modules (for example mx-directory) provide RSS feeds from the module so you could check the modules you're using to see if they provide an RSS feed.

gordo
  • 2006/8/23 14:08

• gordo

• Just popping in

thanx for the reply.

I am a newbie to XOOPS and rss in particular. I tried the News Module and could not get it to work at all 3 times I tried installing and uninstalling it. but still the same I went through everything and tried various combinations of things but no news would display.

So I settled for Altern8 which wasn't listed as a plug in in RSSFit and was completely lost with anything else. so at the moment I am totally lost as simply how to generate a headline feed that I can offer to a Newsnow network I want to link to.

Any help would be appreciated .. this seems to be baffling me. I have worked on forums cms but this ***** my head

msdana
  • 2006/8/23 15:15

• msdana

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2005/12/11

Quote:
I tried the News Module and could not get it to work at all 3 times I tried installing and uninstalling it. but still the same I went through everything and tried various combinations of things but no news would display.