MatthewHSE
"Sections" Module: How to make it available from the front end?
  • 2006/1/19 17:33

• MatthewHSE

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/1/19

I'm no beginner to the web or CMS's in general, but this morning is my first experience with Xoops, and I'm finding it a little difficult to get used to. I have a feeling there's some key concept I'm missing here, but I've searched and can't find a solution to the problem I'm having.

Currently, I intend to use XOOPS only for a CMS. All I need to do is add articles and categorize them. I've figured out that the "Sections" module is what I need - I've installed it, added a section, and added an article with no problem whatsoever.

But I can't figure out how to get access to the "sections" or the articles from the front end of the site! I've tried turning on debugging (no notices or errors), and I snooped all through the "Blocks" and "Modules" admin options to no avail. My XOOPS front page has the header, login box, Main Menu and Home links, and the footer. That's all, and I can't figure out how to get Sections (or anything else) to be available there.

I've checked the FAQ's about blank pages, but they mostly seem to recommend activating debugging. And like I said, I tried that and didn't get any notices or errors.

My goal is to have the XOOPS index.php page simply show a list of my category (section) names, which can be clicked to view a listing of articles within the section. That's such standard CMS behavior that I can't imagine XOOPS doesn't have that ability, but I can't figure out how to achieve that objective.

I'm running XOOPS 2.0.13 on PHP 4.3.11 and MySQL 4.0.25, with Apache 1.3.34 on Linux.

Thanks in advance,

Matthew

bluenova
Re: "Sections" Module: How to make it available from the front end?

Hi Matthew,

Welcome to xoops!