Gothic-Angel
How can I run Python scripts inside of Xoops?

I'm pretty new to PHP and was wondering how I can include Python in Xoops. Maybe even having modules written in Python on my XOOPS site.

Would I call them from an HTML enabled page the same way as I would call a Java applet? Or would a page wrapper (are there any good page wrappers for Xoops?) be more prudent?

My overall ideal would be an integration of XOOPS and Python but that involves areas I haven't even begun to research yet.

TIA for any ideas.

lanart
Re: How can I run Python scripts inside of Xoops?
  • 2005/8/1 15:25

• lanart

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/8/1 1

You can't . Not in elegant way.
It seems that XOOPS is not the choice for you. Try Zope (www.zope.org), Plone (plone.org), Myghty (www.myghty.org), Cherry (www.cherrypy.org)

Andrei

Gothic-Angel

That would be nice but I already have an established website running XOOPS with tons of content on it. The changeover from PHPnuke to XOOPS was traumatic enough.

I know there has to be a way to do this without having to convert my database over to yet another CMS. Calling a Perl script or another CGI program from within XOOPS wouldn't be much different. My problem isn't with whether or not it can be done but how to go about doing it.

jurgis
  • 2005/8/1 21:56

• jurgis

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/3/20

Quote:
I know there has to be a way to do this without having to convert my database over to yet another CMS. Calling a Perl script or another CGI program from within XOOPS wouldn't be much different. My problem isn't with whether or not it can be done but how to go about doing it.

Its more fundamental thing - better ask this not in "beginners corner" but some devs..

I know there are such technique as "remote procedure calls" or so - this way You can link scripts even on different servers.

but anywhay, why not learn PHP? :) (PHP5 has many of pythons features, OO and similar)
Don't worry, be happy :), & make things better ;)...