nightshade
Cant hide email addresses in member profiles
  • 2005/6/18 7:59

• nightshade

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/6/11

i am a newbie. but i have read countless support forums and still havent found an answer to my problem. I just installed XOOPS and have put together a basic forum site. problem is, registered members are able to view each other's email addresses. even though the option is not checked, and have been set to private. I have created a ton of test users, and for some strange reason they can still view registered members email address in the profiles. how can i stop this? any ideas?

jdseymour
Re: Cant hide email addresses in member profiles

What forum are you using? This is a system wide setting per user account. Make sure that the "Allow other users to view my email address" is unchecked. Also make sure you are not viewing these accounts as webmaster, as you have extra rights to the accounts.

nightshade
  • 2005/6/18 8:44

• nightshade

• Just popping in

i am using 2.0.15 xoops, if this is what you mean by what forum i am using. And yes, i have the "allow users to see view my email address unchecked"...and i have logged off as webmaster and am using on of the "TESTUSER" accounts i created to test the system, but the email adresses of other "testusers" is still being seen in the profile. I dont know what else to try. i evedn tried logging in from different computers. im completely lost now

nightshade
  • 2005/6/18 8:59

• nightshade

• Just popping in

just created three more test users, gave them all different group priveledges, one with virtually none at all. still in the member profile, all the users email is displayed. now i DO have my forum set up so only register members can enter it, so there are no annonymous users. i dont know if this is the problem or not, but im trying to make it so that registered users email addy is not shown on thier profile unless they WANT it to. i dont know what else to do

nightshade
  • 2005/6/18 9:14