tedsmith
Making Intranet available from more than one physical office, securely
  • 2005/5/6 13:22

• tedsmith

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/6/2 1

I come in seek of some advice...(I've also posted this at www.iis-resources.com)

For the last year I've run our Intranet from one city in the UK which services just 8 users in the same office and runs on IIS6 and Windows Server 2003 on an internal network with a single domain. It's been a great success.

My department has recently (two weeks ago) merged with another department who are physically located in London. The network admins are hoping to create some kind of secure connection - probably a VPN - not sure yet - that's their job, so that we can share resources! One of those resources is our Intranet site that we all want to use.

It will be my job to make our XOOPS Intranet avaibale to both offices. I'm terrified - I've never done anything like that before. The worry is that the data we share is VERY private relating to our work in Law Enforcement so it must not be compromised due to negligence.

With regard to security :

What do I need to know beforehand? Obviously, I'll make our MySQL server more secure by use of superusers with long and varied passwords, as well as using their latest version (already installed in fact). I'll update PHP to 4.1.10 and I'll install the Protector module by GIJOE and always keep XOOPS up-to-date. Would it be worth using the SSL options of Xoops? Would it be worth setting up a DMZ for the web site itself to reside in? If so, how do I do that? What else do I need to worry about? Is it fair to say that as long as the network admins make the connection secure my troubles are 50% cut? And would the recommendations above cover most of the remaining 50%? Other issues to consider?

With regard to the merger :