comptech2002
installation

I am fairly new at doing PhP web sites. But i am needing something easy and quic to use w/o having to have aftp client installed at work. I get everything done but when i get to the Physical Path I run into a lot of issue. These are the paths i use.
C:/xoop
http://mytech-world.net/xoops
/home/xoops
/xoops
/
All fo these return some sort of error saying that the directory couldnt be located. Now if i use the "/" i get this "Could not detect the physical path to your XOOPS directory". But if i use anything else i get that along with this "Physical path must be a directory". Now i know the instruction you all are using is if your hosting your own web site, and i am not hosting my own site in this case. I have looked at my physical location on their server and it is root>xoops. but for some reason i cant get the software to reconize it..Please help LOL i need sleep LOL

jdseymour
Re: installation

If it is on a hosted linux/unix web server the physical path should look something like this:

/home/Your_username/public_html

public_html being the root site folder that XOOPS in installed in.

Your host should be able to give you your path.

HTH.

comptech2002

Ok i contacted yahoo who my domain is hosted by. ANd they have no idea what i am talking bout. they could tell the differance between a pop tart and rain forest. So though some testing this is what i have gotten so far

when i do
/home

I will get his single error message "Could not detect the physical path to your XOOPS directory"

also when i open up my FTP client it shoudl also give me my path. This is what i get for my ftp path

/willtempmal@sbcglobal.net

so i tried

/home/willtempmak@sbcglobal.net/xoops

which still give the directory error meesage

Dave_L
  • 2005/4/15 18:08

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/11/7

Add a script named phpinfo.php with contents:

<?php phpinfo() ?>