eric235u
mySQL backup with phpMyAdmin
  • 2005/3/29 17:59

• eric235u

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2004/12/19

Hi all. This is my first time using a dynamic website and want to make sure I'm backing everything up correctly. Yes yes I'm asking for some hand holding here. I'm just worried I'm going to loose all my data by over looking something simple. So,

My little site is hosted and I'm using phpMyAdmin. After logging in I click on the database on the left hand drop down selection box, then click export. On the page "View dump (schema) of database" I click select all and leave SQL checked as the default export. I leave the default Structure and Enclose table and field names with backquotes checked. Data is also checked. I check save as file with "File name template : __DB__. This gives me a nice text document.

Now I know I need to start going through the mySQL docs, but until I get the time to do so, am I backing up correctly? Thanks for any tips.

gecko
Re: mySQL backup with phpMyAdmin
  • 2005/3/30 6:00

• gecko

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2004/10/11

Hi eric
Thats what i do, i'm not 100% it's right, but it looks good.
I also copy my whole site down to desktop and zip it up before any major change.The you can always go back 1 step.
Yep its labour intensive and sucks some bandwidth but
It's too easy to get carried away changing things and then finding an error a week later.

Good luck, maybe someone else can confirm 100%?

gecko

terrion
  • 2005/3/30 6:21

• terrion

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/9/19

There's a nice little Backup Module that I like to use on every XOOPS site I manage, or help to manage. It does essentially the same thing you described, just does it through a bock right inside xoops.

I only let the Webmaster Group have rights to see that block, just like hiding the Waiting Contents block from regular users.

I've successfully restored a database that I had crashed when working on stuff more than once with the .sql file it outputs.