msreality
yikes!
  • 2005/1/16 0:12

• msreality

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/12/22

I am really new to xoops...and really like it, I was able to create my site with very few problems....(currently have a phpadsnew question out there)....my site is ready to go live and I tried moving my XOOPS site from the XOOPS directory to the main site directory and got error messages all over the place, so I moved everything back into the XOOPS directory and my site works fine again, but I dont want it to be in example: mysitename.com/xoops....can someone tell me which files need to be changed once I move all the files to the main root directory...I know I need to change the main.php file but what else am I missing here?
I know this has been asked, but there are no replies which makes it very frustrating ....any help and/or direction would greatly be appreciated.
Thanks
Msreality

rowdie
Re: yikes!
  • 2005/1/16 0:36

• rowdie

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2004/7/21

You should only need to change the mainfile.php, both the physical path and virtual path.

Then make sure the templates_c , cache and uploads folders all have write access enabled.

That should be all you need to do. It would be helpful if you had been able to post some of those error messages, we would have a better idea of what was going wrong

msreality
  • 2005/1/16 5:19

• msreality

• Just popping in

sorry I should have listed the errors.....Im not good at this coding stuff..and since I put the files back....I cant replicate the errors at this time (Im not moving them until I know I got it right)

I have located that the problem is in the mainfile.php and that the XOOPS Physical Path is not correct being the fact that I am knew to all this stuff, I am still weeding my way thru all the reading, and wanted to know if there was anywhere that I could get examples of what the path coding should look like?
Any help to point me in the right direction would be appreciated.

thanks
Msreality

irmtfan