jmass
How do the devs and community feel about...
  • 2004/8/15 18:04

• jmass

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/12/18

I have been using XOOPS for about 9 months now and have been nothing but impressed. I have built several sites for clients, and they have been nothing but impressed with Xoops.

I am thinking of aggressivly marketing a portal system. My company had developed a closed source portal system based on Lotus Domino. My intention was to market this system. However, I have been smitten by Xoops. I will still be using my Domino application, along with other closed source stand alone apps with single sign on through LDAP. They will have no code level interaction with the GPL products, so there is no license problem. I can not, however, market XOOPS as is (with the onscreen credits and links). Neither can I afford to give away my "trade secrets" by advertising that 60% of my portal system is such a great open source product. Of course all credits in the code and license, really everywhere except for the display output, would remain.

I know that I can LEGALLY modify Xoops, repackage and sell it as long as I make my "new" product GPL. However, I am concerned with the community reaction - especially the developers who have worked so hard. My first thought is that they would not mind because they are planning on LGPL for Xoops3. This is because they want to make XOOPS viable for commercial use in a even greater way. However, I feel the need to "ask permission" in a way.

Your input is appreciated.

JMass

tl
Re: How do the devs and community feel about...
  • 2004/8/15 18:10

• tl

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2002/6/23

This topic has been covered numerous times, do a search would unearth some very insightful comments.

FYI - here is the quote from XOOPS FAQ
Quote:

If I create a module for XOOPS, do I have to release it as GPL?