yellowchimp
where to start

I just need pointing in the right direction!

Have designed a site in html and css. XOOPS has been installed on the server. Now I have no idea of what to do next. I have never ever used a cms before.
Could someone very simply tell me what teh first step to setting up a site is.

Many thanks

ps - I am no computer expert so please no jargon or techy language

fooups
Re: where to start
  • 2004/7/26 10:21

• fooups

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/1/12

Greetings,

the first things to do according to me is to define all your needs for your website: what kind of informations do you want to present: pictures, texts...
When you know this, you can select which modules you will use, and install them, if they're not in the official package.

Second, you will have to configure your XOOPS (and I suggest yu to read this kind of tutorials, and also, this.

Third, you will have to adapt the XOOPS theme to your current site's theme.

Fourth, you will have to transfer the data contained in your old site into your xoops.

Last, but not least, you will have to make a big party in order to celebrate your new website powered by XOOPS

If you search in the download section, you could find modules for rss-feed, e-commerce, and inserting HTML (some features that you will need, regarding the adresse you gave in your profile)

Happy xoopsing.

yellowchimp

Thanks for yor help.

I need to ask some questions though.

How do I adapt the XOOPS theme to my current sites theme? (What is my current sites theme ??? - is it my stylesheet?)

And how do I transfer the data from my site into my XOOPS site??

fooups
  • 2004/7/26 18:51

• fooups

• Just popping in

I knew it wasn't clear
- theme adaptation: by saying 'your current site theme', I meant the whole apparance of your site (in your profile), including your CSS .