khatti
Site Preference Problems
  • 2004/7/26 4:12

• khatti

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/7/26

Hi All,
I am a TOTAL newb to anything php and XOOPS as well, so please bear with me and don't laugh too hard at my silly newbie questions.

I've installed XOOPS with no problem and have been following the instructions for setting up and configuring my site from the Wiki and XOOPS for Dummies (which is very helpful, BTW).
I deleted the Install folder, made my mainfile.php Read Only, then installed my Modules. All was going well til I wanted to edit my Preferences in the Admin menu (and the Poll as well). I get a text bulleted list (General Settings, User Info Settings, etc) with [Edit] after each one. But when I click on Edit I only get a blank page.

I'm sure I've done something wrong here...but am pretty clueless. Thanks for any helpful suggestions!

khatti

irmtfan
Re: Site Preference Problems
  • 2004/7/26 4:24

• irmtfan

• Module Developer

• Since: 2003/12/7

first you are not totally newbie to XOOPS
many people dont read these documents ( XOOPS for dummies and wiki )
i dont know what is your problem but u can turn on php debug from database. see wiki:
http://wiki.xoops.org/wakka.php?wakka=TroubleshootingBlankPage

khatti
  • 2004/7/26 5:12

• khatti

• Just popping in

Thanks for directing me to that part of the Wiki...I was pretty lost.
I tried turning errors on in PHP...but that didn't seem to make a difference.
Then I tried adding the file ".htaccess" to modules/system, with the suggested line: "php_flag display_errors on".
(.htaccess seemed like a weird filename to me, though)

Anyway, I got an error alright, but am not sure if it is from the problem or that it doesn't like that crazy filename. Said it was an "internal server error".

So think I'll skip to the possible fixes...where is my php.ini? That might be helpful...

Thanks again!
khatti

irmtfan
  • 2004/7/26 5:36

• irmtfan

• Module Developer

• Since: 2003/12/7