xoops forums

Acithata

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/6/14 23:31
Acithata
Acithata (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 45
Since: 2004/3/30
#1

2.06 to 2.07

Hi

trying to update to the newest vers, but every package i download doesnt contain the upgrade file. Am I missing something?

skalpa

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2004/6/14 23:43
skalpa
skalpa (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 300
Since: 2003/4/16
#2

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

There is no "upgrade file".
Just unarchive the update package, then copy the files from the html/ folder over your previous version ones.

Then logon to your site, go to the admin/modules page. And click the "update" graphical button on the system module line.

That's it...

skalpa.>

vgough

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/6/15 1:09
vgough
vgough (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 1
Since: 2004/6/15
#3

2.06 to 2.07 update problems

I just found out about XOOPS as of 2.0.6, and it is great. However this update is not very friendly at all.

1. First of all, the permissions in the file are root.root read write execute for *all*. That isn't really something I want to untar into my public directories.

2. So, after going through and fixing all the permissions, I try and load and get a message "Script execution not allowed". It took a while to figure out that was coming from XOOPS and not apache / php. My normal and SSL directories are different, but link to the same directory for Xoops. So the new test in common.php kills that. I changed my version, but it would be nice if the error message was more helpful.

3. Now the "Random Picture" and "New Images" blocks from xoops-gallery are broken. I realize this is a separate project, but to me a minor version point release should not be making such large changes that things are breaking (unless XOOPS gallery is abusing the interface somehow and shouldn't have been working in the first place)..



Acithata

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/6/15 6:58
Acithata
Acithata (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 45
Since: 2004/3/30
#4

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

Its asking me to install again...Is this going to mess my installation up?

Herko

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2004/6/15 7:16
Herko
Herko (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 4238
Since: 2002/2/4 1
#5

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

You went ahead anyway and overwrote ALL your original files with the FULL 2.0.7 package?? Next time, PLEASE read the upgrade instructions.

Now, to fix this:
Open mainfile.php.dist in a text editor and put all the correct values (these have been provided by your hosting provider when you signed up) in there (marked in red):
// XOOPS Physical Path
// Physical path to your main XOOPS directory WITHOUT trailing slash
define('XOOPS_ROOT_PATH''[color=CC0000]path/to/your/xoops/site[/color]');

// XOOPS Virtual Path (URL)
// Virtual path to your main XOOPS directory WITHOUT trailing slash
define('XOOPS_URL''http: //[color=CC0000]www. your_url.here[/color]');

([
color=CC0000]due to the code formatting hereplease remove the whitespaces between http: and //, and between www. and your_url[/color])

// Database
// Choose the database to be used
define('XOOPS_DB_TYPE''mysql');

// Table Prefix
// This prefix will be added to all new tables created to avoid name conflict in the database. If you are unsure, just use the default 'xoops'.
define('XOOPS_DB_PREFIX''[color=CC0000]xoops[/color]');

// Database Hostname
// Hostname of the database server. If you are unsure, 'localhost' works in most cases.
define('XOOPS_DB_HOST''[color=CC0000]localhost[/color]');

// Database Username
// Your database user account on the host
define('XOOPS_DB_USER''[color=CC0000]databaseusername[/color]');

// Database Password
// Password for your database user account
define('XOOPS_DB_PASS''[color=CC0000]databasepassword[/color]');

// Database Name
// The name of database on the host. The installer will attempt to create the database if not exist
define('XOOPS_DB_NAME''[color=CC0000]databasename[/color]');

Now: save this edited file as mainfile.php and upload that to the server, overwriting your current mainfile.php. Now you should have a working site back.

Herko

Acithata

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/6/15 7:17
Acithata
Acithata (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 45
Since: 2004/3/30
#6

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

Quote:

skalpa wrote:
There is no "upgrade file".
Just unarchive the update package, then copy the files from the html/ folder over your previous version ones.

Then logon to your site, go to the admin/modules page. And click the "update" graphical button on the system module line.

That's it...

skalpa.>


No...I did as skalpa told me to!!!!!!!!!

Acithata

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/6/15 7:26
Acithata
Acithata (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 45
Since: 2004/3/30
#7

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

// Table Prefix
// This prefix will be added to all new tables created to avoid name conflict in the database. If you are unsure, just use the default 'xoops'.
define('XOOPS_DB_PREFIX', 'xoops');

// Database Hostname
// Hostname of the database server. If you are unsure, 'localhost' works in most cases.
define('XOOPS_DB_HOST', 'localhost');

Changed it as shown above and still don't have my site back. Maybe if there were some instructions in the upgrade file, I would've followed them, hence why I asked where the usual php file to upgrade was

Herko

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2004/6/15 7:33
Herko
Herko (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 4238
Since: 2002/2/4 1
#8

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

If you uploaded the upgrade package, the system wouldn't ask you to install it. That only happens when the mainfile.php is 'blank', as it comes in the full download release.

As for the prefix and database servername, you have to be sure about them, and set them as they were. If the database isn't changed, then pointing your XOOPS site to the right database should be enough.

Herko

Acithata

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/6/15 7:50
Acithata
Acithata (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 45
Since: 2004/3/30
#9

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

Quote:

skalpa wrote:
There is no "upgrade file".
Just unarchive the update package, then copy the files from the html/ folder over your previous version ones.

Then logon to your site, go to the admin/modules page. And click the "update" graphical button on the system module line.

That's it...

skalpa.>


Again, I bring your attention to skalpa's post.

Quote:
Just unarchive the update package, then copy the files from the html/ folder over your previous version ones.


That is what I did and it completely f***ed up my site! If its such a hard ship to get clear answers from the main guys on the project, what chance DO I HAVE.

I went ahead with the install as there was nothing else I could do. Will deleting the new tables I made with the xoops2 prefix help?

Mithrandir

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2004/6/15 8:16
Mithrandir
Mithrandir (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 6320
Since: 2003/6/21
#10

Re: 2.06 to 2.07

Quote:
Its asking me to install again...Is this going to mess my installation up?

Where is it asking you to install again? When you go to your XOOPS root index.php?