xoops forums

1000ac

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/5 22:00
1000ac
1000ac (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 74
Since: 2005/9/14
#21

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

Hi Aproape
I have now the same XOOPS and CBB version as yours and I have a new problem.
When Suin's simplified URL on(with phpbb disabled) I get a blank page. When I disable Suin's hack in mainfile php the pages are loading correctly but it is still showing the PHP URL's.
With Suin's hack enabled and your hack disabled I also get PHP URL's.
I have been playing and trying everything all day but nothing works.
Is there any requirement needed in the server?

aproape

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/6 3:36
aproape
aproape (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 19
Since: 2007/2/19
#22

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

Hi there 1000ac,

Quote:

1000ac wrote:
Hi Aproape
I have now the same XOOPS and CBB version as yours and I have a new problem.
When Suin's simplified URL on(with phpbb disabled) I get a blank page. When I disable Suin's hack in mainfile php the pages are loading correctly but it is still showing the PHP URL's.
With Suin's hack enabled and your hack disabled I also get PHP URL's.
I have been playing and trying everything all day but nothing works.
Is there any requirement needed in the server?


Hmm - try to download again the archive - same location/name.

I have slightly updated the seo_url.php file.. I think I found the issue for Suin's URL blank page.

Try it and let me know - merci!


A bientot,
aproape

1000ac

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/6 23:58
1000ac
1000ac (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 74
Since: 2005/9/14
#23

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

Hi Aproape
I tried that and it fixed the blank page problem but I couldn't get to have the URL's with the keywords included.
I migrated the CBB module to SMF with a SEO hack.
I think I will also get rid of the whole XOOPS portal very soon too. XOOPS is not what it used to be 5 years ago when I started my website and I am getting tired of it's limitations.
Thank you very much for your help. Your mod allowed me to have a better forum.

Didier_mDF

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/7 0:05
Didier_mDF
Didier_mDF (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 2
Since: 2007/11/6
#24

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

Hi everybody,

I was glad to test your hack but I had the same problem as 1000ac with URL like :
/forum/t/331//?&forum=23 (with the two //)

So, it seems that the problem comes from the prefix of the table in queries in the file seo_url.php. We don't have the same prefix as yours.

I'm not good enough to give a solution but I directly try to replace the prefix with mine and it seems to work better now.
I've got URL like https://xoops.org/forums/t/61568/seo-hack-for-cbb-v3.08/?&forum=23
(we nearly get it !)

I hope this will help you...

Best regards, and thanks for sharing your work

(sorry, english is not my language)

1000ac

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/7 0:49
1000ac
1000ac (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 74
Since: 2005/9/14
#25

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

I moved my forum to a different module today and now you come with a solution. Don't worry, it's not your fault, I am generally not a lucky guy
Your forum looks great the way it is.
Merci Didier de partager ta solution.

aproape

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/7 0:49
aproape
aproape (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 19
Since: 2007/2/19
#26

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

Bonjour Didier!

Quote:

Didier_mDF wrote:
Hi everybody,

I was glad to test your hack but I had the same problem as 1000ac with URL like :
/forum/t/331//?&forum=23 (with the two //)

So, it seems that the problem comes from the prefix of the table in queries in the file seo_url.php. We don't have the same prefix as yours.

I'm not good enough to give a solution but I directly try to replace the prefix with mine and it seems to work better now.
I've got URL like https://xoops.org/forums/t/61568/seo-hack-for-cbb-v3.08/?&forum=23
(we nearly get it !)

I hope this will help you...

Best regards, and thanks for sharing your work

(sorry, english is not my language)


Indeed - that was the issue.

I completely forgot that my tables prefix are different - indeed - than the ones XOOPS uses by default.

You have successfully installed it This is the proper format of the URL.

I will try to update the package so that it shows the default table prefix.

Merci!


A bientot,
aproape

aproape

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/7 0:53
aproape
aproape (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 19
Since: 2007/2/19
#27

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

Heya 1000ac,

Quote:

1000ac wrote:
I moved my forum to a different module today and now you come with a solution. Don't worry, it's not your fault, I am generally not a lucky guy
Your forum looks great the way it is.
Merci Didier de partager ta solution.


Sorry to hear you moved - and my apologies for the prefix tables issue.. hard to debug without seeing anything! )

But.. I am glad you found something better - you might also want to take a look at:

http://fudforum.org/forum/

I think it's quite an interesting forum.. and very well coded.

Let me know if you have any other questions.. who knows - maybe I will be able to help that time!


A bientot,
aproape

1000ac

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/7 0:57
1000ac
1000ac (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 74
Since: 2005/9/14
#28

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

No problem Aproape. I understand that helping others from a forum can be harder than making a mod.
I am still glad you gave me a chance to think about the SEO side of my website.
Thank you again.

Didier_mDF

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/7 1:11
Didier_mDF
Didier_mDF (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 2
Since: 2007/11/6
#29

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

aproape,

I enjoy with your code and I'm just trying to replace this line :
$add_to_url 't/'.$mvars[1].'/'.forum_seo_topic($mvars[1]).'/';

by this :
$add_to_url 't/'.$mvars[1].'-'.forum_seo_topic($mvars[1]).'.html';


and it seems to... work !

Can we continue in this way ? I think it would be great to obtain such ".html" URL ? What do you think about that ?

Regards,

Kieran

Just popping in
Posted on: 2007/11/8 3:18
Kieran
Kieran (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 32
Since: 2007/7/12
#30

Re: SEO hack for CBB v3.08

I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but is there any way I can still use this seo hack if my server host does not allow rewite? If not, is there any solution (to use this hack and also the smartsection seo option) or is the only way to change server host?

Thanks!!!