xoops forums

rossb

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/17 12:24
rossb
rossb (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2006/8/28
#1

New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

Title sez it all...

Minimum PHP required: 5.5 (your version is 5.6.40)
MYSQL Minimum version required: 5.5 (your version is 5.5.60)
Minimum XOOPS required: 2.5.9 (your version is 2.5.9)
Minimum ModuleAdmin required: 1.2 (your version is 1.2)

What may be a bug:

At first I had a conflict with duplicate registration email address (already had another user with same email). Symptoms:
firefox, chrome: no error message informing me of this. Kept returning to basic registration page.
explorer: got duplicate email message.

Did this:
deleted offending user from user and session db tables
checked all file ownership / permissions - OK
deleted all entries in session table
cleared xoops and browser caches, cookies included.
restarted browsers

Stuck here:
firefox, chrome, keeps returning to basic registration page.
explorer, can register new users OK, email sent, can complete registration.

I have searched the forums / docs. What is lacking is a current checklist for debugging registration issues. Have tried all suggestions, to no avail.

Have run out of ideas apart from recommending explorer on my site. Hate windoze and, recommending it is "not me".

Anyone have suggestions?

Site: www.rossco.org

Thanks;
Bill

alain01

Quite a regular
Posted on: 12/17 20:49
alain01
alain01 (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 393
Since: 2003/6/20
#2

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

Hi,
please, try with an old Firefox version.

The new FF version, V71 comes with new features (like that : Enhanced Tracking Protection in Firefox for desktop)

You use https, ok,
is your certificat correct, with 2048 bits minimum ?

rossb

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/17 21:06
rossb
rossb (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2006/8/28
#3

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

certs OK and current;

guess you're implying turn off tracking protection. Chrome has same?

will turn off and get back to you once I drain another swamp...

If this is the issue, is xoops working on compliance?

Thanks;
Bill

rossb

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/17 21:13
rossb
rossb (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2006/8/28
#4

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

Advanced tracking on:
FF reports no trackers; this site. Same deal keeps returning to basic registration page.
Advanced tracking off: Same deal keeps returning to basic registration page.

Not it

Regards;
Bill

alain01

Quite a regular
Posted on: 12/17 21:19
alain01
alain01 (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 393
Since: 2003/6/20
#5

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

Quote:
please, try with an old Firefox version, not 71
And ?

rossb

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/17 21:24
rossb
rossb (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2006/8/28
#6

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

will take a bit longer to revert ff
get back to you

alain01

Quite a regular
Posted on: 12/17 21:25
alain01
alain01 (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 393
Since: 2003/6/20
#7

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

U could try with portable FF

rossb

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/18 16:47
rossb
rossb (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2006/8/28
#8

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

same behavior FF 70.0.1

rossb

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/20 12:44
rossb
rossb (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2006/8/28
#9

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

update:

modules/profile/register.php (excerpt):
$opkey 'profile_opname';
if (isset(
$_SESSION[$opkey])) {
    
$current_opname $_SESSION[$opkey];
    unset(
$_SESSION[$opkey]);
    if (!isset(
$_POST[$current_opname])) {
        
$_POST = array();
    }
} else {
    
$_POST          = array();
    
$current_opname 'op'// does not matter, it isn't there
}


The difference between chrome, firefox and explorer, edge is that (after submit basic registration) is that $_POST is empty (chrome/firefox) and populated (explorer, edge). Therefore basic registration POST variables are not set, leading to reload of basic registration page.

I do see the POST message with correct variables in FF debug console / network.

Regards;
Bill

rossb

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/20 14:50
rossb
rossb (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2006/8/28
#10

Re: New users: cannot register with firefox, chrome, can with explorer

update:

$_POST is not empty; first load of register.php (my logfile was previously cleared at start)

$_POST contains [op47069] => register
$_SESSION contains [profile_opname] => op85318

which is compared and fails (code above):

if (!isset($_POST[$current_opname])) {
$_POST = array();

...wiping the $_POST variables, causing a failure and basic registration page reload.

In other words $_POST and $_SESSION are outa sync.

Regards;
Bill