11
random
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2003/3/26 0:49

  • random

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 2

  • Since: 2003/3/26


Quote:

mktwain124 wrote:
thanks, sitekeep...I forgot to include that part.

To summarize the procedure, clone the default theme with Admin Theme Manager ["Themes"]. In the Templates column of your cloned theme, click on System [LIST(22)], click on edit for system_block_mainmenu.html and add one of the following scripts either before the <tr> tag which puts your links before the regular menu items or after the </tr> tag which puts them at the bottom of the menu block:

[size=small]
<!-- 
Link to file on your site: -->
  <
tr>
    <
td id="mainmenu">
      <
class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/path_to_your_file">Link Title</a>
    </
td>
  </
tr>
 
 
<!-- 
Link to outside url: -->
  <
tr>
    <
td id="mainmenu">
      <
class="menuMain" href="foo.bar.com">Link Title</a>
    </
td>
  </
tr>
[/
size]


Now I am finding a problem here

This works perfectly for files on my site, but I cannot go to an external url.

Instead of going to the external url I get the following:

foo.bar.com/myexternallink.net

It is like every link I try it first gives me the default URL and add my extrenal link to it.

Any help appreciated

12
random
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2003/3/26 3:17

  • random

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 2

  • Since: 2003/3/26


I just figured it out, you need to put http:// before the actual link.

But how can I open that url in a new window

13
Catzwolf
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2003/3/26 4:25

  • Catzwolf

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1392

  • Since: 2007/9/30


try something like this:

<a href="http://www.mywebsite.co.uk" target="_blank">This is my link</a>

14
easy_now
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2003/4/11 16:31

  • easy_now

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 1

  • Since: 2003/4/11


where can i find the Admin Theme Manager? i cant seem to find it in my XOOPS 2..

thanks

15
Shimmerknight
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu

ok i have done what is said to do here but i cant activate the cloned theme. i have made it the same name of the theme i am using and that doesnt work. so how do i activate it?

16
Acithata
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2004/6/14 10:26

  • Acithata

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 45

  • Since: 2004/3/30


This is really bugging me now. I edited the theme as posted, nothing. Then I created an html link in the theme.html, nothing.

Can someone help me out, I'm going mad!

17
Acithata
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2004/6/14 10:27

  • Acithata

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 45

  • Since: 2004/3/30


This is really bugging me now. I edited the theme as posted, nothing. Then I created an html link in the theme.html, nothing.

Can someone help me out, I'm going mad!

18
tjnemez
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2004/6/14 13:11

  • tjnemez

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1594

  • Since: 2003/9/21


this is a copy of the system_block_mainmenu.html template:

<table cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td id="mainmenu">
<a class="menuTop" href="<{$xoops_url}>/"><{$block.lang_home}></a>
<!-- start module menu loop -->
<{foreach item=module from=$block.modules}>
<a class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/modules/<{$module.directory}>/"><{$module.name}></a> <{foreach item=sublink from=$module.sublinks}>
<a class="menuSub" href="<{$sublink.url}>"><{$sublink.name}></a>
<{/foreach}>
<{/foreach}>
<!-- end module menu loop -->
<a class="menuMain" href=" <{$xoops_url}>/user.php">Login</a>
</td> </tr>
</table>

i have added login to my main menu as indicated in bold text. you need to clone your template before you do this.

edit: oops i thought we were still on original post, just disregard

19
Acithata
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2004/6/14 13:21

  • Acithata

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 45

  • Since: 2004/3/30


Done, but still no luck. I cloned the template and checked I'm using it. Code below

<table cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td id="mainmenu">
<a class="menuTop" href="<{$xoops_url}>/"><{$block.lang_home}></a>
<!-- start module menu loop -->
<{foreach item=module from=$block.modules}>
<a class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/modules/<{$module.directory}>/"><{$module.name}></a> <{foreach item=sublink from=$module.sublinks}>
<a class="menuSub" href="<{$sublink.url}>"><{$sublink.name}></a>
<{/foreach}>
<{/foreach}>
<!-- end module menu loop -->
<a class="menuMain" href="http://www.worldofetilicia.com/phpbb">Forum</a>
</td> </tr>
</table>

Still nothing. Any ideas?

20
tjnemez
Re: Adding Links in the Main Menu
  • 2004/6/14 13:25

  • tjnemez

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1594

  • Since: 2003/9/21


did you upate:

Note: Remember to effect all changes you must go to Sytem Admin -> Preferences -> General Setting [edit] -> and set "update module template.html..." to yes and then select go at bottom of screen. This will update your site to effect all changes (remember to go back once settings have taken effect and set same to no and update once again).

Login

Who's Online

193 user(s) are online (104 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 193


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits