xoops forums

MaxIT

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/6/5 16:25
MaxIT
MaxIT (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 65
Since: 2002/11/8
#1

RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

It looks like this block shows some thread subjects with 'Re:' quote instead than clear ones.
For example, in my RC3 Test Site I've got 2 threads titled as 'forum'. the first one is showed on the R.D. Block as "re: forum". The second one appears as "forum", as it should be.
Is this a bug? a feature?

<small>[ Edited by MaxIT on 2002/6/5 17:26:41 ]</small>

kain

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/6/5 17:18
kain
kain (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 56
Since: 2002/1/9 9
#2

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

i think it's a feature, but honestly i don't like it very much

Anonymous

Posted on: 2002/6/5 19:15
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#3

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

I thinks its forum and not blocks related, blocks just grab the title.

RE = REPLY

Just look the title of initial post of this thread and the other "replies".

MaxIT

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/6/5 19:33
MaxIT
MaxIT (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 65
Since: 2002/11/8
#4

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

I understand 'Re:' means 'reply' but:
why it grabs the title of the first post in the thread in some cases (withouth the 'Re:' string), and in other cases it grabs the title of the reply (with the 'Re:' at the beginning)?
Look HERE: two threads with both 'forum' as title of the first post, but different previews on the block: one appears as "forum" and the other as "Re: forum".

onokazu

XOOPS Founder
Posted on: 2002/6/5 19:38
onokazu
onokazu (Show more)
XOOPS Founder
Posts: 617
Since: 2001/12/13
#5

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

yes..it is strange..

MaxIT

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/6/5 19:42
MaxIT
MaxIT (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 65
Since: 2002/11/8
#6

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

it's happening to this forum too since RC3 is online.
Maybe, in some (still undefined for me) cases query skips the first item (0 indexed) of the thread and grab the title from the second one (1 indexed).
Posted on: 2002/6/6 7:17
goghs
goghs (Show more)
Posts: 8
Since: 2001/12/13
#7

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

I got the reason.
If you test again, you can find when a reply post is edited, then the extra "Re:" will be added to topic title.
It's a logic problem in codes. Please wait for fix.

Fix:

modules/newbb/class/class.forumposts.php line 460:
change from
$this->db->query($sql);
to
$r = $this->db->query($sql);

<small>[ Edited by goghs on 2002/6/6 15:53:52 ]</small>

MaxIT

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/6/6 7:51
MaxIT
MaxIT (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 65
Since: 2002/11/8
#8

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

Confirmed: editing post cause the problem.

I've just applied the fix:
correct line is 453, and it works!

(of course it works only for posts submitted after applying the fix: those ones whose previously suffered of this bug will mantain "re:" string on the RD block).

Tx.

<small>[ Edited by MaxIT on 2002/6/6 10:11:42 ]</small>

MrSmith

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/6/13 8:04
MrSmith
MrSmith (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 12
Since: 2002/5/12
#9

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

Thanks for the fix! It was line 453 on my system as well.

<small>[ Edited by MrSmith on 2002/6/13 8:04:59 ]</small>

onokazu

XOOPS Founder
Posted on: 2002/6/13 11:42
onokazu
onokazu (Show more)
XOOPS Founder
Posts: 617
Since: 2001/12/13
#10

Re: RC3 recent discussions block: why 'Re:'?

thanks. will add this to RC3.0.1