1
yatiohi
Change field in user profile - Help
  • 2004/1/28 7:52

  • yatiohi

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2003/4/9 7


We want to use "aim field" in the user profile for another reason. We changed the caption of the field an its character limit of the sql database to varchar(100) but when a user tries to store more than 18 characters (the default user aim limit) XOOPS displays the message

"Errors
user_aim must be shorter than 18 characters."

Any ideas??

2
yatiohi
Re: Change field in user profile - Help
  • 2004/2/1 11:44

  • yatiohi

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2003/4/9 7


nobody?

Please take a look we are kind of despaired :)

3
Mithrandir
Re: Change field in user profile - Help

Did you change line 158 in edituser.php?
$aim_text = new XoopsFormText(_US_AIM'user_aim'1818$xoopsUser->getVar('user_aim''E'));

4
bennie
Re: Change field in user profile - Help
  • 2004/4/10 8:11

  • bennie

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 40

  • Since: 2003/7/3 1


I'm trying to modify the edituser section, i would like to have instead of a single line a text box like extra info.

i been looking for quite some time now and think it must be done in edituser.php from line 162 down. i tryd to change the XoopsFormText to XoopsFormTextArea but it does not work. can any one help me out please.

5
Mithrandir
Re: Change field in user profile - Help

XoopsFormTextArea takes some extra parameters regarding rows and columns

XoopsFormTextArea($caption, $name, $value, $rows=5, $cols=50)
XoopsFormText($caption, $name, $size, $maxlength, $value = "")

As you can see, the value in XoopsFormTextArea comes as 3rd parameter whereas it is the 5th in XoopsFormText

6
bennie
Re: Change field in user profile - Help
  • 2004/4/10 18:18

  • bennie

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 40

  • Since: 2003/7/3 1


Hey, Mithrandir

Thanks for the quick reply, i've tryed what you have said and yes, they are now text area's very nice. but, there always seems to be a but. now the text from the dbase does not show up anymore, any id's how to solve this?

$background_text = new XoopsFormTextArea(_US_BACKGROUND,'user_background',"", 4, 40, $xoopsUser->getVar('user_background', 'E'));

thanks again Ben

7
Mithrandir
Re: Change field in user profile - Help

It was the AIM field, right?
$background_text = new XoopsFormTextArea(_US_BACKGROUND,'user_aim',"", 4, 40, $xoopsUser->getVar('user_aim', 'E'));

8
bennie
Re: Change field in user profile - Help
  • 2004/4/11 7:39

  • bennie

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 40

  • Since: 2003/7/3 1


nope, i made a new field in the dbase for this purpous. it worked fine in the XoopsFormText way but now it does not get the results from the dbase.
when you try to fill it with content, the results are saved in the dbase and show up in the user profile. if you go to edit user again the field is blank.

i dont understand why the results are saved but the dbase content is not shown.

i hope you can tell me how to fix this glitch.

9
yatiohi
Re: Change field in user profile - Help
  • 2004/7/4 16:58

  • yatiohi

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 5

  • Since: 2003/4/9 7


i changed it to
$aim_text = new XoopsFormText(_US_AIM'user_aim'5050$xoopsUser->getVar('user_aim''E'));


but i keep getting the same msg

Login

Who's Online

182 user(s) are online (106 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 182


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits