totoff
Module-wide Cache, Help me ! !
  • 2004/1/23 9:49

• totoff

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/1/20

hello I'm christophe cousinier and I'm a french trainee in a developpement company and I work on XOOPS project. I would like to understand the XOOPS operation and I'm blocked on the Module-wide Cache.

Is somebody could explain to me the Module-wide Cache system ?

ps : sorry for my english

Dave_L
Re: Module-wide Cache, Help me ! !
  • 2004/1/23 16:21

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/11/7

I assume you are asking about Control Panel >> System Admin >> Preferences >> General Settings >> Module-wide Cache.

As far as I can determine, if one of the modules is set to "No Cache", then that setting will not override the cache settings for individual blocks. The individual block cache settings will be used (Control Panel >> System Admin >> Blocks >> Edit > Cache lifetime).

If a module-wide cache is set to something other than "No Cache", such as "5 minutes", then that setting will be used for all blocks within that module, regardless of the individual block cache settings.

This is handled in header.php:

if (xoops_getenv('REQUEST_METHOD') != 'POST' && !empty($xoopsModule) && !empty($xoopsConfig['module_cache'][$xoopsModule->getVar('mid')])) {

I think the option "No Cache" is misleading here, and should be changed to "No Override".

Please correct me if I'm wrong about this.

DonXoop

I think you're right about the cache precedence. Confirmation is appreciated as it is important to get it right.

One thing to note about cache system wide or block specific is that you want to carefuly check that any cached content is the same for all users/groups for that content.