xoops forums

Hadesteam

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2017/3/15 14:14
Hadesteam
Hadesteam (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 161
Since: 2011/9/5 1
#21

Re: http to https

Is there someone who has already passed on https? I would like to ask how Google reacted to the change (positions in the search engine)?

Regards

aerograf

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2017/3/15 15:52
aerograf
aerograf (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 201
Since: 2017/1/7 1
#22

Re: http to https

After the transition, I did not notice the difference. More for yourself and go to html5.
Here's the topic:
Https://webmasters.googleblog.com/2014 ... ps-as-ranking-signal.html
Https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/34444?hl=en

Hadesteam

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2017/5/20 19:30
Hadesteam
Hadesteam (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 161
Since: 2011/9/5 1
#23

Re: http to https

https://www.google.pl/?gws_rd=ssl#q=si ... /modules/news/article.php

every module redirection works fine but in news module is blank page, xoops 2.5.7, module news: 1,68 RC1

category redirect works fine but single article is blank page ...

Hadesteam

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2017/5/20 20:58
Hadesteam
Hadesteam (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 161
Since: 2011/9/5 1
#24

Re: http to https

Yes i felt something will be wrong, otherwise it would be too beautiful;)

http://www.kulturystyka.org.pl/module ... s/article.php?storyid=392 - redirection 301 STOP WORKS and other articles

http://www.kulturystyka.org.pl/modules/news/ - WORKS

http://www.kulturystyka.org.pl/module ... s/index.php?storytopic=34 - all categories WORKS

maybe with this redirect code is something wrong?
$checkScheme = function () {
        
$s $_SERVER;
        
$parsed parse_url(XOOPS_URL);
        
$targetScheme $parsed['scheme'];
        
$currentScheme = (!empty($s['HTTPS']) && $s['HTTPS'] !== 'off') ? 'https' 'http';
        if (
!== strcmp($targetScheme$currentScheme)) {
            
$host $parsed['host'];
            
$port = isset($parsed['port']) ? ':' $parsed['port'] : '';
            
$fullUrl $targetScheme '://' $host $port $s['REQUEST_URI'];
            
header('Location: ' $fullUrltrue301);
            exit();
        }
    };
    
$checkScheme();


Now i switch off this code, because i'm afraid of google position, i will wait for your help

berndtausten

Just popping in
Posted on: 12/27 16:21
berndtausten
berndtausten (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 1
Since: 12/27 16:0
#25

Re: http to https

Thanks to all! Very useful info.

xoobaru

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 3/18 21:24
xoobaru
xoobaru (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 493
Since: 2010/12/2
#26

Re: http to https

If you are seeing some images and not others, your server is telling your browser to no longer display the unsecured images.

You can verify by right clicking on the image or placeholder that does not display and the select your browsers Inspect option in the dropdown. Do you see a url that begins with http:// (unsecured) in the inspect code?

Now try this for an image you can see. Do you see https:// (secured) instead of http:// ?

If yes to both of your above tests, any changes made to httpd.conf or .htaccess to enforce TLS result in the browsers no longer being allowed to display unsecured content. That is because it will only honor secured content.

There is another possibility for this symptom.

If you renamed all http:// in your database dump to https:// as recommended above, but the external server associated with one of the url that you changed does not support https://, the associated content may not be served to your browser. It may even produce an error.

xoobaru

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 3/18 21:35
xoobaru
xoobaru (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 493
Since: 2010/12/2
#27

Re: http to https

Quote:

Hadesteam wrote:
Yes i felt something will be wrong, otherwise it would be too beautiful;)

http://www.kulturystyka.org.pl/module ... s/article.php?storyid=392 - redirection 301 STOP WORKS and other articles

http://www.kulturystyka.org.pl/modules/news/ - WORKS

http://www.kulturystyka.org.pl/module ... s/index.php?storytopic=34 - all categories WORKS

maybe with this redirect code is something wrong?
$checkScheme = function () {
        
$s $_SERVER;
        
$parsed parse_url(XOOPS_URL);
        
$targetScheme $parsed['scheme'];
        
$currentScheme = (!empty($s['HTTPS']) && $s['HTTPS'] !== 'off') ? 'https' 'http';
        if (
!== strcmp($targetScheme$currentScheme)) {
            
$host $parsed['host'];
            
$port = isset($parsed['port']) ? ':' $parsed['port'] : '';
            
$fullUrl $targetScheme '://' $host $port $s['REQUEST_URI'];
            
header('Location: ' $fullUrltrue301);
            exit();
        }
    };
    
$checkScheme();


Now i switch off this code, because i'm afraid of google position, i will wait for your help



This following t '://' allows php to build the url as either http:// if the system does not support TLS, or as https:// if it does support TLS.

For systems such as all my sites which are 100% hardccore SSL, I edit :// to https:// and no http: url construction is possible. Be judicioius. You still cannot use a https link to access an external resource that does not support https so you need a good overview and sense of your requirements, and what constraints you are willing to live with (some missing imagery or broken ssl lock display in the url bar).