11
timgno
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 RC 1 for Testing
  • 2013/5/28 16:37

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


Please test this module before releasing with security the version RC2 and then if all goes well the final version.

This module is a big step forward to build the base of the modules.

12
Mamba
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 RC 1 for Testing
  • 2013/5/28 19:08

  • Mamba

  • Moderator

  • Posts: 11366

  • Since: 2004/4/23


I just installed it, and there are some good new additions, but also some bugs in the generated module.

I'll try to do some more testing this week, and will let you know, or I'll fix it directly in SVN
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

13
irmtfan
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 RC 1 for Testing
  • 2013/5/29 2:46

  • irmtfan

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 3419

  • Since: 2003/12/7


Is this the latest SVN?
http://svn.code.sf.net/p/xoops/svn/XoopsModules/TDMCreate/branches/timgno/1.39

This module creator should follow the standard very tightly. I mean it should not have any hard-code even it vshould remove any instance of dirname from the created module codes.
In one sentence follow the "how to write a standard module for xoops"
eg: It could be very good to have helper and request class in created modules.
@timgno:
I hope you could tell us your ideas about this tutorial

14
timgno
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 RC 1 for Testing
  • 2013/5/29 12:49

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


Quote:
Is this the latest SVN?

Yes...! Its this the latest in SVN

As you say below I can not understand what you mean, but you have to work according to the standard of the code that is already created.

If you want you can also download the other two versions 1.59 and 1.90, just to check that I was doing the development, improving code readability and heaviness, since everything will be moved to the html code in the templates.

Right now I'm very busy with the renovation of my site, in particular in the remake of my modules for xoops 2.5.6 and bring it forward to the next versions in view of a possible update even the PHP server to version 5.4.

The work that I do and that I have already started to xoops 2.6.0, is to change the structure of the code to transfer it, in to the OOP. In this way, the code will be much more readable and you have the ability to modify and expand it with more ease and freedom than the current one which in my opinion seems a little confused. In the current one if you have to add functionality, it becomes difficult to do so without incurring errors or bugs which waste time and human resources available for the time that you have to work too.

@irmtfan
If you have time you can take action with ideas to improve it then assemble the code once the code includes all the necessary functionality.

Even zispek had asked me in pm if he could work, but I do not know if it started to work, I hope let us know something.

15
irmtfan
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 Beta 1 for Testing
  • 2013/5/30 2:43

  • irmtfan

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 3419

  • Since: 2003/12/7


Good.
I test your version and you used $dirname in some places but still there are many places you can use this. It is a step forward.

i found these:
for example if my module dirname is: rating
in table names:
$modversion['tables'][1] = "mod_rating_value";


in templates:
$modversion['templates'][] = array('file' => 'rating_header.html''description' => '');


in config you must eliminate the dirname. it is not needed
$modversion['config'][] = array(
    
'name' => "rating_editor",


in one sentence: There should not be any dirname in xoops_version.php file

also: There should not be any dirname in any possible places.

impossible places are: class and function names.

current functions which we have to use dirname is:
- block functions: edit and show func
- search function
- install, uninstall, ...

there is some minor issues and requests.
1- in table create:
TDMCreate/admin/tables.php?op=create_table
if user dont select any Table Icon it will not be stored. you have to select one default for this or eliminate it.

Also as i said in the last post, It is good to add some stuff from xoops 2.6 to xoops 2.56 module creator

2- could you please change this method:
$modversion[] = array(
    
'name' => _MI_RATING_NAME,
    
'version' => 1.0,
    
'description' => _MI_RATING_DESC,
    
'author' => "XOOPS Development T


with this:
$modversion = array();
$modversion["name"] =  _MI_RATING_NAME;


It is more readable and can be changed line by line.

It is more important in some other arrays like config:
instead of this:
$modversion['config'][] = array(
    
'name' => "keywords",


use this:
$i++;
$modversion['config'][$i][ 'name'] = "keywords";

Requests: xoops 2.6 comes with some facilities but we can have some of them in xoops 2.5.6 modules very very easy
1- class request:
then you will be from codes like this:
$com_itemid = isset($_REQUEST["com_itemid"]) ? intval($_REQUEST["com_itemid"]) : 0;


It can be done very easy. see the "how to write standard module tutorial"

2- class helper:
then you will be free from any config, dirname, handler, ...
instead of this:
$categoriesHandler xoops_getModuleHandler'rating_categories''rating' );
        
$criteria = new CriteriaCompo();
        
$categories $categoriesHandler->getObjects$criteria );


you have this:
$Rating Rating::getInstance();
        
$criteria = new CriteriaCompo();
        
$categories $Rating->getHandler("categories")->getAll$criteria );

It can be done very easy. see the "how to write standard module tutorial"

Quote:

If you have time you can take action with ideas to improve it then assemble the code once the code includes all the necessary functionality.


I wrote the standard and you can implement it very easy in your modules.
but it will take many times for me to learn how your module creator works. so it is good for everybody to do the part which he best on it

Anyway I really dont have time for any other module. even i leave userlog development because I think there is more important functionality developers should work on which are vitally important for xoops.
eg: we dont have any efficient rating system like this in xoops:
http://coursesweb.net/php-mysql/voting-up-down-script-ajax_s2

It is too bad for xoops. we have plenty of useless modules in xoops 2.5.6 but dont have some vital needs.
so In my very tight idea all developers should leave all works and just try to add an efficient rating system with all possibilities. 5 star rating, thank you system , vote up and down, ...
This is what we need in modern world.
That rating system is very hard for me. but anyway we should have it in the soonest possible time to be survive in the modern world.


16
timgno
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 Beta 1 for Testing
  • 2013/5/30 9:37

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


Thank you!
The code that demonstrates for files xoops_version.php, are already as you describe them in versions 1.59 and 1.90.

This discourse I think we should do with the Core Team to include it because it was just MusS have included in the news module this metod, for this reason I have included in this release. For readability I think it's a personal matter, I find it so readable and less wasteful of time and resources.

As regards the categories I have already provided to add a category field in tables.php tab to make sure to remove the appropriate code for the categories, in this sense, we just create any category directly from the usual tab New Table and if in case it a category just tick the radio box to Yes to create the table categories, and then in the following steps when you go to create the fields in the table, I add items in a radio group that allows us to choose which field we want is Parent ID. This method solves the problems related to the creation of SelectBox in class files when you choose the categories during the creation of modules.

With regard to the code of the class for instances, it will be done because you're right starting with xoops 2.5.6 to program in this way.

If you have other suggestions during of the code are much appreciated and if you have time you can create your own personal copy of the module in SVN/XoopsModules/TDMCreate/branches/irmtfan/tdmcreate

17
dbman
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 Beta 1 for Testing
  • 2013/9/13 0:49

  • dbman

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 172

  • Since: 2005/4/28


Thanks for this timgno...

Is there a newer version of this module? The table and category forms are broken in 2.5.6, no errors in debug.

I downloaded from your site. The versions and dates don't seem to coincide on sourceforge svn.

18
goffy
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 Beta 1 for Testing
  • 2013/9/20 11:22

  • goffy

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 535

  • Since: 2010/12/27


hi timgno

I tested 1.39 from your Website and also from svn.
There are still a lot of bugs inside.

Should I continue test this Versions, or should I take another one from svn?

19
timgno
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 Beta 1 for Testing
  • 2013/9/20 16:30

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


Be patient!

I'm testing a version RC 1

If there are many bugs, I will try to solve the most important and then will release a provisional Beta 2 for further testing

20
goffy
Re: TDMCreate v1.39 Beta 1 for Testing
  • 2013/9/21 22:08

  • goffy

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 535

  • Since: 2010/12/27


Hi timgno

my results, maybe they are helpful for you

Quote:

xoops_version.php
- there is a comma missing after 'module_status' => "Beta 1"
I replace the first array completely by separate declarations

- Blocks :
--unallowed char ]
'show_func'] => "b_gteam_groups_show",
'edit_func'] => "b_gteam_groups_edit",
'options'] => "grp|5|25|0",
'template'] => "groups_block.html");
--wrong char ;
'description' => "";

created _MI_..._BOOKMARKS should be replaced by _MI_..._SOCIAL_BOOKMARKS
created _MI_..._BOOKMARKS_DESC should be replaced by _MI_..._SOCIAL_BOOKMARKS_DESC

\$modversion['icons16'] = "../../Frameworks/moduleclasses/icons/16";
\$modversion['icons32'] = "../../Frameworks/moduleclasses/icons/32";
only in const_admin_header.php and const_admin_menu.php you use icon16/icon32,
in all other files you use pathIcon16/pathIcon32

const_admin_header.php
this two line produce errors
include_once \$thisPath.'/include/common.php';
include_once \$thisPath.'/include/functions.php';
I replaced them by:
include_once '../include/common.php';
include_once '../include/functions.php';

const_admin_index.php
line 26: replace $thereare = $language.'_THEREARE_'; by $thereare = $language.'THEREARE_';

const_include_common.php
line 45: $logo = $GLOBALS[\'pathIcon32\'].\'/xoopsmicrobutton.gif\';
this produces an error in common.php, so I replaced by
$logo = $xoopsModule->getInfo('pathIcons32').'/xoopsmicrobutton.gif';


if you have the next version, I will test it in detail


Login

Who's Online

157 user(s) are online (110 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 157


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits