redheadedrod
Xoops 2.6 , Theories, Definitions and how modules are likely to break.

It was mentioned to me that I might cause a panic about 2.6 not working with older modules so I thought I would start this thread to explain. First of all at this point I am NOT a core developer and everything I write here should be assumed to be my Opinion and my opinion only.

First of all I thought I would mention a few things and what my view is on them. They MAY or MAY not be accurate for xoops but hopefully I am closer to being accurate than not.

Core - I believe 2.6 is moving well into this direction but in essence core should only be the bare minimum required to make the system work and contain only functions that are to be used by all installations in one form or another.

Extensions - these are optional components that are not required but are added to help extend the functions of the core. Operationally they should appear as if they are part of core and the system should see them as part of core. By being separate they make it much easier to improve them without requiring changes to core and they can be tracked as versions of the extensions. I believe 2.6 is moving in this direction but I haven't looked through the core to see if this is the case yet. These are extensions of the core/system and not to be confused with modules or add-ons for the modules.

Modules - These are programs added to the site to perform a specialized job. These generally are only loaded when needed and are treated much differently then the core. They should be able to make use of extensions as if they were part of the core since they are extensions of the core. Modules may contain their own extensions/plug-ins but these should be contained withing the module directory.