• dxb_kannel

• Just popping in

• Since: 2010/9/24

hello friends,
let me introduce myself. this is karan. i work on

Mail Server
Voip ( Asterisk)
Vpn

i am just a beginner in xoops. i am beginner in php also.

my question is can xoops do every thing like microsoft share point like

User Account
Announcement
Meetings
CMS
Document Sharing and Version

experts plz guide me in xoops

regards,
http://www.opensourcesolution.in

bjuti
Re: Is Xoops Just like Microsoft Share Point
  • 2010/9/24 15:37

• bjuti

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2009/1/7 2

I never worked in Sharepoint but I suppose that Xoops will fit.

Xoops is cms, wich mean that it could do user accounts and privilages, you could use calendar module for meetengs, announcement - every content module like eg. news, doc sharing - i suppose, there is module for that, but I never tried it.

iHackCode

XOOPS probably cant do everything SharePoint can. i remember this video i saw (sharepoint in plain english: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s12Jb5Z2xaE . I don't know that much about SharePoint, i do remember it being server software that manages stuff, and you get a site of that managed stuff. Anyways..

With XOOPS you have the native ability to manage groups of users, their permission levels on what modules and blocks (blocks:the little containers of info ex: a menu or a search block) are visible to them or even what they can use. also the usage of Smarty for themes and templating.

with adding some modules to XOOPS you are able to add a blog, forum, news, chat, downloads, links, gallery, calendar, rss feeds, wiki's, classifieds, and more..