redheadedrod
Question about how the PM module works to override PMlite in core

I am relatively new to PHP at this point but I am curious how it works that in the core without any modules added you are able to send some basic Private Messages. Then when you install the PM module the core Private Message stuff is bypassed and the PM module is used instead. I am curious how this works and if the same mechanism can be used to "overload" other functions of the core with a module such as a tab in the admin menu as an example.

I think if I understand how the PM module replaces the core "Pmlite" then it will help me along with a project I am looking at.

Thanks!

Catzwolf
Re: Question about how the PM module works to override PMlite in core
  • 2010/8/1 10:46

• Catzwolf

• Home away from home

• Since: 2007/9/30

The pmlite (which should have been taken out when the PM module was created) is 'overloaded' with the new preloader system. Look in the PM module Preloader and that should give a good understanding of how this is done.

I also think that there is a smarty plugin somewhere, I might be wrong.

redheadedrod

Is that found in the pmlite.php file of both the core and pm module?

Also I assume that this same method will work with other core functions that I would like to replace with a more extensive version?

I am looking to add things to one of the admin tabs and don't want to hack the core to do it but this method looks like a simpler way to tie into it.

Rodney

Catzwolf
  • 2010/8/1 13:14

• Catzwolf

• Home away from home

• Since: 2007/9/30

The preloader folder will be found in the pm module folder.

I'm not quite sure that you will be able to do it from the way you are suggesting, but it is worth a try.

You should however be able to add another tab quite easy by adding one by editing the '/module/pm/admin/menu.php' file:

and

$adminmenu = array();
$adminmenu[1]['title'] = _PM_MI_INDEX;
$adminmenu[1]['link'] = "admin/admin.php";