codesweat
No experience building websites whatsoever. Need help.
  • 2010/4/13 16:08

• codesweat

• Just popping in

• Since: 2010/4/13

I am trying to create a website, and after actually buying software to help me I still can't figure it out. I wrote it up as a loss and installed xoop. Here is what I need, again I have NO experience. No html, no php, no mysql, no programming experience whatsoever.

1. First page I need is a simple login page that allows users to register. After they log in it needs to take them to one specific page because I have a very specific set of users. All I am doing is putting a google docs document on the page after login for them to get info off of.

2. Once logged in somewhere on the page needs to be an option for chat, and a link to forums.

3.How do I set up the forums?

4. Once I have all this done, how to I make it visible on my web site.

I feel like slamming my head into the wall. I am not sure why I don't understand this stuff but I just don't get it. I know the answers to the stuff I need are on this site somewhere but I can't find them. Would someone please help me?

Brian

kaotik
Re: No experience building websites whatsoever. Need help.
  • 2010/4/13 16:29

• kaotik

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2004/2/19

Hello Brian
Welcome to Xoops!
Let me ask you a couple of questions so that we can better tailor some responses:
-Have you installed xoops yet?
-was it installed through your hosting provider or did you install it yourself?

There are a couple of basic definitions you will have to learn to use xoops:
BLOCKS - Think of these as little pieces of your webpage (such as login, news or articles). Using blocks you can display a login block on diferent parts of your xoops site.
MODULES - A module extends the functionality of xoops. If you visit the module repository you will see modules for forums, news, articles and many more.