xoops forums

voltan

Theme Designer
Posted on: 2009/3/20 17:26
voltan
voltan (Show more)
Theme Designer
Posts: 724
Since: 2006/12/5
#1

add jQuery library on xoops core

I think if jQuery library added on XOOPS core designers and developers can use more java effects on themes and modules and .... .

it's possible ?

what's your idea ?

bjuti

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2009/3/21 11:30
bjuti
bjuti (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 871
Since: 2009/1/7 2
#2

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

It's great idea... I had that in mind too... :)

Anonymous

Posted on: 2009/3/21 11:36
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#3

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

Framework folder is good place

trabis

Core Developer
Posted on: 2009/3/21 11:46
trabis
trabis (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 2268
Since: 2006/9/1 1
#4

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

Quote:

Mowaffaq wrote:
Framework folder is good place


I'm working in a hooks module(extensions) that will hopefully be an good idea to use in core. My thought is that we can use jquery as an extension, and then use this new hook system to load it in footer.php .
This module will be released for testing during this weekend, I just need to finish something before, right Mowaffaq?!

voltan

Theme Designer
Posted on: 2009/3/21 14:16
voltan
voltan (Show more)
Theme Designer
Posts: 724
Since: 2006/12/5
#5

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

Quote:
Framework folder is good place

yes . and include folder is good too

Catzwolf

Home away from home
Posted on: 2009/3/21 14:39
Catzwolf
Catzwolf (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1392
Since: 2007/9/30
#6

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

We should be working away from the likes of Module Frameworks and start by actually building XOOPS structure in a way that would make adding these items easier and in the correct place. Just sticking everything in this folder will quickly make this unworkable

If you think about this:
Quote:

Plugins
--javascript
----jQuery
----Mootools
----myAjaxSystem


This way more control, we could even go as far as this:

1. System Admin can able or disable those plugins
2. Developer tools can be created to allow theme/module access methods without having to hack the core.

for Example:
a. xo_Loader::LoadPlugin( 'javascript', 'jQuery' );
b. $xoTheme->loadLibrary( 'javascript', 'jQuery' );
c. Even have a smarty way of including a plugin
d. Enable as a pre or post loader

Also, doing it this way might make it easier in the future for automatic updates from the web, without the need for user intervention.

Just my thoughts.

Catz

PS: I wish this forum would accept spaces as valid characters and stop striping them out of the text.

urbanspacema

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2009/3/21 15:47
urbanspacema
urbanspacema (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 276
Since: 2004/9/19
#7

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

I'm using jQuery for the administrative part of a module I'm trying to build. It would be useful to have jQuery integrated in XOOPS

suico

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2009/3/23 11:33
suico
suico (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 374
Since: 2003/7/24
#8

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

I am for jQuery in core too, it s way too good to be left apart. I would say even more, jQuery UI with theirs themes.

IMHO
Yogurt Social Network Service
Visit: http://www.marcellobrandao.eti.br/

bumciach

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2009/3/25 11:23
bumciach
bumciach (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 153
Since: 2007/6/25
#9

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

Fantastic idea :)

And I agree we should think about better organisation folder structure (or better documented). At the beginning (xoops 2.0.16) when I needed using ajax in my modules I was confused: xajax library should been put in class, Frameworks or any other folder? I like clean and order ;)

kerkyra

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2009/3/25 12:41
kerkyra
kerkyra (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 553
Since: 2005/2/14
#10

Re: add jQuery library on xoops core

jquery rules! i use it too! i think microsoft will include it in .net framework too (not sure) so why not xoops! I'm in for xajax as well! although i get some weird results sometimes using it! I included xajax to the module that is using it mate! in the forder 'class'. Makes updating the core easier.
www.guidemap.gr - Beta is out...