caek9
Tranferring news articles to a brand new installation of xoops.
  • 2009/3/9 2:19

• caek9

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2008/7/9 2

I asked previously in this topic about transferring my entire site to a new domain...

https://xoops.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=67713&forum=20&post_id=306694#forumpost306694

But I was not able to successfully transfer over. Since what I'm trying to do is build a new site using my old websites previous news entries it isn't important that I transfer over everything. All I need from my old installation are all the news articles.

So my question is, how do I take my news articles from my old site and transfer them over to a new installation of xoops. I'm a beginner when it comes to managing mySQL databases, so I'm not sure if this is even possible, but anything you could help me would be appreciated.

Catzwolf
Re: Tranferring news articles to a brand new installation of xoops.
  • 2009/3/9 6:37

• Catzwolf

• Home away from home

• Since: 2007/9/30

It is possible and doable, might be a learning experience for you though :)

First, create a backup of your new XOOPS database table just in case you mess up :)

Steps:
1: Install the news module as you would normally.
2: open the file /modules/news/xoops_version.php and look for anything that starts with:
Quote:
$modversion['tables']

You will see that these have values like for example:

Quote:

$modversion['tables'][0] = "stories";
$modversion['tables'][1] = "topics";
$modversion['tables'][2] = "stories_files";
$modversion['tables'][3] = "stories_votedata";
$modversion['tables'][4] = 'stories_log';

These are the database tables associated with the news modules and they shall have a prefix, so if your database table prefix is 'xoops' the table shall look like : xoops_stories_log

3. Using phpmyadmin, delete the news module tables in the current install of xoops.